Healthy Jambalaya with Turkey Sausage

Growing up, Jambalaya was always a staple week-night meal. It is easy to prepare, makes for great leftovers, and pleases many palates. Last night I recreated a version of Jambalaya that my mom would always make for me. I made a few changes to up the nutritional value a little bit! The result was pretty tasty! My roommates were inhaling it, partly because they were both “STARVING” , but they also gave the recipe a thumbs up as well:)

Here’s the line up of ingredients:

Left to Right: Cayenne pepper, garlic powder, dried thyme, garlic, green pepper, red pepper, chicken stock, hot turkey sausage, ground paprika, onion,celery, diced tomatoes, rotisserie chicken

First up is to chop the onion, peppers, and garlic

Next chop up the turkey sausage and shred the chicken. (I went ahead and shredded the entire rotisserie chicken and just saved what I didn’t use for the rest of this week, maybe on top of salads, or on top a pizza? we’ll see )

kind of gross looking haha

Pre-heat a non-stick skillet to high heat with some olive oil, or olive oil spray and add the turkey sausage first

Saute for about 5 minutes until the outside is brown and crispy

Add a few dashes of your spices, (normally I would just use creole seasoning such as Old Bay instead of all the different spices, but I forgot to pick it up at the store so I just used what I had on hand) if you do use the spices I used, make sure to go easy on the cayenne pepper! but liberal with the other spices. Stir it all together

Then transfer the turkey sausage to a plate and cover lightly with foil

Then add all your chopped veggies to the same pan and saute for about 10 minutes until the veggies are very tender and slightly browned

Then add back in your sausage, along with the chicken, crushed tomatoes, rest of spices, and chicken stock

literally almost overflowing. I need a bigger pan asap.

reduce heat to low and simmer for about 10 minutes until sausage is cooked through. Then its ready to be served! I cooked up some Quinoa to go underneath, but brown or white rice would be good as well!

NOMMM

This was really good. I added some hot sauce to mine because I like everything extra spicy! And yes I burnt my mouth because I was too impatient to wait for it to cool down. It was worth it though.

****

Healthy Jambalaya with Turkey Sausage 

Servings 4-5

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

1 cup shredded rostisserie chicken

1 package hot turkey sausage chopped into 1 inch thick pieces

1 red bell pepper, roughly chopped

1 green bell pepper, roughly chopped

1/2 cup chopped onion (one medium onion or half of a large)

4 stalks celery chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 14.5oz can diced tomatoes

1 cup chicken stock

4 tbsp Old Bay creole seasoning or approximations of what I used (1 tbsp paprika, 1-2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tbsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp ground thyme) Salt and Pepper to taste

2 tsp olive oil, or olive oil spray (I used the spray)

Instructions:

Preheat nonstick skillet to high heat with 1 tsp olive oil, or 4 sprays of olive oil spray. Add turkey sausage and brown for about 5 minutes. Add 1/2 seasonings and cook for 1 more minute. Transfer to a plate and cover with Aluminium Foil

Next, add a bit more oil to the pan and add chopped veggies to the same skillet and saute for 10 minutes. Add spices after about 5 minutes.

Then add in the sausage,  shredded chicken, diced tomatoes, and chicken stock.

Reduce heat to low and simmer for about 10 more minutes until sausage is cooked through and all the flavors are melded. Taste and add more salt and pepper as needed.

Serve over rice or quinoa and enjoy!

One Comment on “Healthy Jambalaya with Turkey Sausage”

  1. […] diced tomatos, black beans, olive oil, chicken stock, and a big bag of veggies.  When I was making Jambalaya a few nights ago I went ahead and chopped all the vegetables I would need for this soup! So in the […]


Leave a Reply

