Mom’s Black Bean Soup

My mom is the best. (And yes Hi mom I know you will be reading this) This summer she took me on an amazing trip to France to a cooking school, which I will do a re-cap on soon! We ate the best food I’ve ever eaten, drank amazing wine, and went to numerous local markets and restaurants that were breath taking.

A picture of us from France! I learned my love for food and cooking from my mom. I have always loved looking through all of my moms old recipes she has collected through the years. My mom knew sending me some of her recipes I have always enjoyed would excite me, and she was right! Last night I got around to making one of my favorite recipes of all time; My Mom’s Black Bean Soup.

The recipe is simple, and it might not sound that exciting..but let me tell you, ITS AMAZING. Seriously this soup is so tasty you just wanna eat bowl after bowl until you feel sick. I normally try and stop myself a 2 bowls…Its spicy, creamy, comforting, but also extremely healthy for you! I will be making this soup on a regular basis.

Heres the line up of Ingredients:

Cumin, chili powder, diced tomatos, black beans, olive oil, chicken stock, and a big bag of veggies.  When I was making Jambalaya a few nights ago I went ahead and chopped all the vegetables I would need for this soup! So in the bag is diced onion, carrot, celery, red pepper, garlic, and a jalapeno pepper. Use twice, chop once!

First Pre-heat a soup pot with about 1tbsp olive oil to med-high heat

Throw in your veggies and saute for about 5-10 minutes. Until onions are translucent and veggies are tender.

steamy yumminess

Next add in the rest of the ingredients. Rinsed and drained black beans, chopped tomatoes, chicken stock, chili powder, cumin, and a big pinch of salt.

Cover and simmer for about 30 minutes.

Then transfer half of the mixture into a blender, and once blended, add back into the soup pot. However, if your super cool and high tech like we are in my small college kitchen..hah. Whip out one of these babies!

Thanks to my roommate Molly’s mom, we have an IMMERSION BLENDER. This thing is actually awesome. I can’t wait to use it again next week to make butternut squash soup! So away I blended!

YUMMMMMM

I got a little excited with the immersion blender so the soup ended up being on the creamier side, but it turned out AWESOME. I just wanted to eat the entire pot. I had about 2 bowls last night for dinner, and another bowl for lunch today along side a huge salad. And I didn’t snap any pictures worth posting because I was too impatient and inhaled the soup too quickly.

Thank you again mom! Your the best!

****

Moms Black Bean Soup!

Yields 8 Bowls

Ingredients:

1 Large Onion chopped

3 Garlic Cloves chopped

4 Carrots, peeled and chopped

4 Ribs Celery, chopped

1 Red Bell Pepper, chopped (could substitute another color)

1 Jalapeno pepper diced

4 cans black beans

1 can Chopped Tomatoes

4 Cups Chicken Stock (to make it vegetarian use vegetarian stock)

3 tbsp chili powder

1 1/2 tbsp Cumin

Salt and Pepper to taste

Olive Oil

Instructions:

Pre-heat a soup pot to medium high heat with approximately 1 tbsp olive oil. Saute onion, garlic, pepper, jalapeno, carrots, and celery for about 5 minutes until soft and translucent.

Add in the black beans, tomatoes, chicken stock, and spices.

Simmer soup for atleast 30 minutes

Pour half into a blender and blend until smooth before pouring back into the soup pot. Or use an immersion blender to mince some of the soup

Recommended served over brown rice with chopped scallions, cheese, and tortilla chips crumbled on top!

Leave a Reply

