Butternut Squash Soup = FALL

Fall, aside from summer, is my favorite season. While I’m not a HUGE fan of pumpkin (I know it’s a crime), I am obsessed with all other fall items. My favorites are

butternut squash

Sweet Potatoes!!!

I eat so many sweet potatoes its INSANE. I eat them on top of salads, or microwaved with GOAT CHEESE or HUMMUS. They are my number one carb of choice.

APPLES

I eat at LEAST one a day. nom nom nom

These are definitely my top 3. But I also love that the fall means CLEMENTINE season. It reminds me of the days when my mom would pick me up from school and would always bring clementines as a part of our emergency must-eat-as-soon-as-we-get-in-the-car-or-we-will-pass-out snacks. Dramatic yes, but I was always soo hungry after school days!

So back to yesterday. I spent all day (lies) cramming for my Econ exam that I took this morning at 8am. I was SOO nervous. Hopefully it went well..I hate guessing how I did on an exam cause if I think I did well it always turns out that I didn’t. Does this weird sense of thinking ever happen to you?

Anyways..on one of my study breaks, (side note I don’t understand how people study for hours on end without taking breaks! My attention span just does not last for that long; reason #550 why I can’t sit still for long periods of time), I went into the kitchen and made Butternut Squash Soup! One of my FAVORITE fall recipes. So healthy, yet so satisfying and comforting. Its a win win in my opinion.

Here’s what you’ll need

Onion, Ginger, garlic, APPLE, ground nutmeg, chicken stock, butternut squash, and not pictured items that were used..yes I'm lazy..were carrots, salt, pepper, and ground cayenne pepper. Side note I only used one of those butternut squashes

First up, chop chop chop!; Onion, garlic, ginger, butternut squash, apple, and carrots

This can be a rough chop because the soup gets purred at the end!

Preheat a soup pot with a coat of olive oil on the bottom to medium high heat and saute the onion, garlic, and ginger.

Then add in the rest of the veggies along with the nutmeg and cayenne pepper

Then add the chicken stock, bring to a boil, and then reduce the heat to low and simmer for about 20 minutes with the pan slightly covered.

Then blend the soup in batches in a blender, or use an immersion blender to process until smooth and creamy

Salt and Pepper to taste and then serve with desired toppings (a dollop of sour cream, greek yogurt, or my choice GOAT CHEESE) and enjoy!

Last night I poured the soup on top of some spinach leaves with a lot of goat cheese on top!

SOOO GOOOOD. this soup is awesome. make it now

*****

Creamy Butternut Squash Soup

Servings: 8-10 bowls

Ingredients:

1 medium Butternut Squash-chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and chopped

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 tbsp, fresh ginger chopped (or 1 1/2 tsp dried ground ginger)

1 tsp nutmeg (fresh ground, or from the jar)

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (depending on how spicy you like it!)

4 cups chicken stock (or vegetable stock)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat a soup pan with olive oil to medium high heat. Saute onions, garlic, and ginger for 5 minutes (until onions are translucent). Add in the carrot, butternut squash, and apple and saute for another 2 minutes. Add in cayenne pepper and nutmeg and stir to combine. Then add in chicken stock and cover pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to love and simmer covered for about 20 minutes, until vegetables are tender. Transfer soup to a blender and blend until smooth. (You might need to do this in batches) Or use and immersion blender. Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve with desired toppings (greek yogurt, sour cream, chopped chives, goat cheese) and enjoy!

2 Comments on “Butternut Squash Soup = FALL”

  1. […] finally some Butternut Squash Soup  and a few wheat […]

  2. […] I made a batch of butternut squash soup, but this time added a sweet potato to it to make it nice and […]


Leave a Reply

