Apple Picking + New Recipe!

This morning I went with a group of of sorority sistas to go APPLE PICKING.

 

We were all prettty excited, and not to mention the weather was perfect!

Stopped to take a funny pic, and then dug right in!

I ate the first apple I picked..and it was so NOMM (that means amazingly delicious)

LOOK HOW JUICY!

Lindsay posing  picking an apple

I loaded my bag up with a TON of apples, (they were all fuji), and the best part about it..I got them all for free! 16 pounds of apples fooo freee. Well technically not for free cause it came out of my sororities budget, but hey we’ll just pretend

Now I just need to figure out what to bake with them..I’m thinking apple bread? and apple crisp? YUMMM

******

Now onto the Spaghetti Squash I made the other night! I made Stuffed Spaghetti Squash with Roasted Eggplant! SO GOOD

Here is what I did

Roasted the Spaghetti Squash at 350 for 40 minutes

I used a fork to poke some holes to allow excess steam to flow out

Then I prepped the eggplant by slicing 1 inch slices, covering with some salt, and allowing excess moisture to get out by placing the eggplant on paper towls. I let these sit for about 30 minutes

Once the spaghetti squash was done, I took it out of the oven to let cool a little, and popped in the diced eggplant and onion to roast for 30-40 minutes at 350 degrees

Then I sliced the spaghetti squash in half, and removed the seeds, and scraped the flesh(weird way of saying it hah) into a bowl

Once the eggplant and onions were done, I tossed them into the bowl with the spaghetti squash and added in some grated parmesean cheese and goat cheese. (note I would have added a LOT more goat cheese if I had more left)

Then I added about 2 cups of jarred marinara sauce in and stuffed the mixture back inside the spaghetti squash shells!

Baked in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes

SO GOOD. I ate an entire half of one..and enjoyed every single bite

******

Stuffed Spaghetti Squash with Eggplant

Servings: 4

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Prep Time: 1 hour

2 medium-large Spaghetti Squash

1 medium sized eggplant chopped

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

2 cups jarred, or homemade marinara

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1 tbsp italian seasoning

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup goat cheese

1/4 cup grated parmesean cheese

1 cup grated mozzerella cheese (for topping)

salt and pepper to taste

 

Instuctions:

For Spaghetti Squash: Pre heat the oven to 350 degrees. Poke vent holes in squash with a fork, place on a cookie sheet, and bake for 40 minutes. Once the squash is cooked, cut each in half and scoop out the seeds and discard. With a fork, take out the flesh of the squash by scraping length wise, so you get nice long “spaghetti” like strands. Place all of the inside flesh into a mixing bowl, and reserve the shell of the spaghetti squash.

For the eggplant mixture: Place the diced eggplant and onion onto a baking sheet, and toss with olive oil, red pepper flakes, italian seasoning, and a pinch of salt and pepper. Roasted at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes, until golden brown.

Assembly: Mix the spaghetti squash and the eggplant mixture together in a bowl. Toss with goat cheese, parmesean cheese, and marinara sauce. Stuff mixture back into spaghetti squash shells (dividing evenally amoungst the 4) and top with mozzerella cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, and serve warm!

note: I prepped the spaghetti squash up to the point before baking, and stored them in the refrigerator for 4 hours or so. I also first put my spaghetti squash in the oven, then once I took them out put my eggplant in. The hands on prep is really simple, it is just a matter of roasting both the spaghetti squash and eggplant. You can also modify these steps by sauteing the onion and eggplant instead of roasted, and boiling the spaghetti squash instead of baking it.

 

 

 

2 Comments on “Apple Picking + New Recipe!”

  1. […] got this jar of pumpkin butter when I went Apple Picking..it kind of tastes like […]


Leave a Reply

