Apple Cake with Apple Butter Glaze

Yesterday’s Apple Picking adventures left me with 16 pounds of apples..so naturally I made an Apple Cake

I used a recipe based out of The Flour Cookbook, only making a few changes

I forgot to take pictures of the process(woopsies), but here is a picture of the batter all mixed up

don’t you just wanna eat the entire bowl? well badder licking ensued

The apple cake my mom always makes is with a cream cheese frosting, but due to the fact that we are currently short on grocery supplies (no goat cheese! it’s seriously a huge problem) I used some of the apple butter I bought yesterday to make a glaze

Not the prettiest glaze, but I promise you it tastes amazing. I just mixed 1 cup powdered sugar with 1/2 cup apple butter and a little almond milk to thin it all out.

SO GOOD. I feel like I say that about a lot of things..but actually this is a must make recipe!

*****

Apple Cake with Apple Butter Glaze

Adapted from Flour Cookbook Recipe

1 10 inch round cake

1 3/4 cup flour (whole wheat or All Purpose)

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup unsalted butter

2 eggs

4 cups apples peeled, cord, and chopped (I used fuji, but granny smith is a good choice)

1/2 cup raisins

1 cup pecan halves, toasted and chopped

For Glaze:

1 cup confectioners sugar

1/2 cup apple butter

2 tbsp milk (to thin out glaze)

Instructions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 10 inch round cake pan (I used a spring form pan)

In a bowl, mix by hand, or with a stand mixer, the butter and sugar. Add in the 2 eggs and whisk until mixture is smooth. Fold in the chopped apples, pecans, and raisins. In a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt, ground cinnamon, and ground nutmeg). Fold dry mixture into the apple mixture and scrape all of the batter into the greased cake pan. Bake for about 1 hour and 20 minutes, or until the cake feels firm to touch, and the top is golden brown.

For the Glaze: Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Once the cake is slightly cooled, pour glaze over top. Garish with shredded coconut or just a dusting of powdered sugar.

so amazing. Dense, gooey, melt in your mouth delicious. I made this cake yesterday and it’s basically gone. ‘nough said.

4 Comments on “Apple Cake with Apple Butter Glaze”

  1. lapiattini says:

    Yum!! I STILL have apples left from apple picking about 3 weeks ago so apple cake it is!

  2. Wow – I’d give anything for a slice of this cake right now!

  3. oh my goodness, that looks amazing!!! I love anything involving baked apples!

  4. The Teenage Taste says:

    Wow, that cake looks fab! I’m practically drooling on my keyboard!


Leave a Reply

