Mexican Fiesta!

We had a mexican fiesta for dinner tonight!

The star of the show..

A MORTAR

Did you know Guacamole taste better when you make it in a mortar at 2 am? Cause it does

I wish I had taken pictures from the night we came home after being out and decided to make guacamole using our new mortar which was mailed to Molly as a gift from her mommy! We made it the night of her birthday! The pictures of would of been a lot funnier..maybe next time

 Sonny’s Guacamole Recipe

Ingredients:

2 Haas avocados

2 tbsp chopped tomatos

1 tbsp chopped scallion

1 tsp chopped cilantro

salt to taste

Instructions: Mix all together and serve! …and do this in a mortar if you’re cool enough to own one like we are:)

Me and molly just decided for halloween we were going to dress up as guacamole ingredients..I think it would work

OTHER exciting news to add to the dinner

I pulled out the Crock Pot today (don’t ask what took me so long) and made Mexican Chicken!

Look at this beauty. I hesitantly created my own recipe, but I’m happy to say it worked out. In the crock pot I put 3 chicken breasts (uncooked), 3 tbsp salsa, and 1 tbsp of taco seasoning..I covered all of these with chicken stock just so that the chicken was covered and let this cook slowly on low for 6 hours. I drained some of the broth out, shredded the chicken, and voila!

chicken cooked in the crock pot is so legit.

Some other mexican sides

Brown rice with Lime Juice and Cilantro

 

Just boil in a bag brown rice, with a squirt of lime juice and a little cilantro.

And Microwave Mexican Black Beans

 

These are so easy and SO yummy: I just placed one can of black beans, drained but not washed, 1 chopped up red bell pepper, 1 tsp chopped cilantro, some lime juice, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, and 2 tbsp salsa, stirred all together and microwaved for 3 minutes! easy peasy

Sonny wanted me to show you her plate

nom nom nom nom

Mexican fiesta is happening once a week..because its pretty awesome. I can never get anyone to go to Chipotle with me (sob), but I think my version might be even better then Chipotle! Yep I went there

Hope everyone had a great day!

<3Chelcie

3 Comments on “Mexican Fiesta!”

  1. Hey I’m looking for a good crock pot recipe and I think I might try this one this week! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

