Throwback Thursday!-Cooking School in France Summer 2011

This summer, my mom and I embarked on the most amazing trip to Perigord in the Dordogne region of Southern France. We attended a week long cooking school, called Le Combe en Perigord, which was started by Wendely Harvey (editor of all the William Sonoma Cook-books, as well as many other credentials) and her husband, Robert Cave-Rogers.

inside the main house (the table is where we ate many dinners, and breakfast every morning

The school only accepts 10 people each week. The week we attended was part of the cooking school’s Guest Chef program with chef’s Johanne Killeen and George Germon, owners of the restaurant Alforno in Providence, RI. Here is a little bio on the restaurant: “Al Forno Restaurant opened in Providence, Rhode Island on January 2, 1980. Chef-owners Johanne Killeen and George Germon bring simple renditions of food rooted in the various regions of Italy and Provence to their riverfront restaurant kitchen. Dishes are re-crafted to reflect the products of New England’s farms and waters cooked in wood-burning ovens and on grills over hardwood charcoal fires.” Source

The Corridor

Johanne and George happen to be close family friends with my friend Eliza’s family, and that is how we found out about the trip. If you haven’t been to Alforno in Providence I HIGHLY suggest you go there, it is my all time favorite restaurant! (and has been featured on the food-network several times!)

Every day we would travel to different towns, and explore street markets.

Lots and Lots of Duck

potatoes fried in duck fat! (I didn’t try these but at one of the places we had lunch I had french fries that were fried in duck fat, INSANE)

Some other day daily explorations we went on were to a Goat Farm

 

We picked up some FRESH GOAT CHEESE to eat after dinner with our cheese course. Yes I ate the majority of the goat cheese just incase you were wondering

And since we were in a Truffle Region, we went to a truffle farm and went truffle hunting!

this was the owner of the truffle farm who taught us all about truffle hunting. Then off we went with the 2 dogs to find the truffles. For truffle hunting, either pigs or dogs are used to sniff the truffles in the ground. Once the dogs detect the smell of a truffle, they start digging and are then stopped to make sure they don’t damage the truffle.

this was one of the truffle hunters! so precious

After our daily adventures, we would return to La Come and go for a run  take a nap after the Rose wine that was consumed during Lunch:), and then start cooking lessons with George and Joanne! My favorite day of cooking was learning how to make their famous Grilled Pizza  (George brought the idea of Grilled Pizza’s back from Italy and now they have become widely popular in the states..pretty darn cool)

Johanne getting the lesson ready in the AMAZING kitchen at La Combe

 

George grilling the Pizzas!

I wish I took more pictures of the food, because it was by far the most amazing food I have EVER eaten! Oh and side note some of these pictures are courtesy of my friend Nick on the trip because my digital camera decided to die the day my mom and I arrived in France. So we proceeded to buy a couple throw-away cameras..did you know they still even made those?!

I honestly can’t even begin to cover the entire trip in one post, but it was the most amazing trips of my life thus far. I am so fortunate that I am able to travel to a lot of different places, and so thankful to my mom for taking me on this trip!

Group picture at Lunch!

Terrible picture quality ahhh. But this was our lunch one day! The best deviled egg I have EVER had!

Me and mommy!

The dessert course at our last lunch, a strawberry sorbet with some other amazing things (I wish I remembered gah) and homemade rice krispies! may be the best thing I’ve ever eaten.

Did I mention that wine in France is cheaper then buying bottled water? Yup I’m moving to France. End. Of Story.

I hope you enjoyed the thursday throwback! I’ll be back tomorrow with the Recipe for my No-bake pumpkin Granola Bars!

<3Chelcie

 

4 Comments on “Throwback Thursday!-Cooking School in France Summer 2011”

  1. I can’t believe you got to do this!!!!!!!!

  2. your trip looks amazing!!!!!! im moving to france if wine is cheaper than water too 🙂

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    This looks AMAZING! What beautiful food pictures– it must of been an unforgettable experience.

  4. […] the coolest thing you’ve ever done?” I’d say it would have to be a tie between the trip to france and studying abroad in Spain last January. At my school, there is fall semester and spring […]


Leave a Reply

