Thursday Throwback-Studying Abroad in Spain

When people ask me “what’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?” I’d say it would have to be a tie between the trip to france and studying abroad in Spain last January. At my school, there is fall semester and spring semester, and then winter term which is the month of January. This month is a very popular time to study abroad. So last year I took it upon myself to look into studying abroad options for freshman, and I found one to Granada, Spain. I went out on a limb and signed up, not knowing anyone going on the trip.

Hands down best decision of my life. There were about 30 of us on the trip, and we all ended up getting along so well. To say I had fun is the biggest understatement, the whole experience was seriously life-changing. One of my “3 credit classes” I took while in Spain was touring around spain! The other 3 credit course was a basic spanish class. I basically did zero work, and ended up with two A’s on my report card. um HELLO? who wouldn’t want that?!

My roommate Tierney and I lived with a women named Rosa. She spoke zero english..like actually not one word. It was definitely an adjustment at first, but we eventually got use to it. She would make us breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and no she was not the best cook. Breakfast was normally plain cereal and coffee, and every morning Tierney and I would stop at a bakery on the corner and get a muffin filled with nutella. It was AMAZING. And then we would walk to the school, which was about a 15 minute walk.

Me and Tierney!:)

Before we went to Granada, we spent the first 4 nights staying in Madrid. We spent the first few days getting to know each other, and touring around Madrid as a group

we made friends with some locals..hahaha

Every weekend we would travel to a different part of Spain,  some stops included Sevilla, Barcelona, and Toledo.

We got to go to a vineyard for a wine tasting (it was a rough life)

We stayed in a hostel in Barcelona

quite the experience..we also went to an ice bar! and a huge discoteca that when I left at 3am had a line 100 people deep outside. at 3am! people in spain are insane

at the ice bar

The amount of sangria that was consumed

insane, insane amounts. Best sangria in the world exists in spain

One of the best days of the trip was skiing the on the Sierra Nevada. A group of us took a day trip, rented equipment, and skied all day long. It was so surreal

No this picture isan’t fake. HOW COOL IS THAT? We were so high up it was crazy! And there was no waiting in lines for the lifts, or ice patches, it was just perfect skiing conditions. (like my all blue ski outfit? haha we rented all of the ski clothing too)

If I could go back and do this trip over again with the same group of people I would in a second.

Another part about the trip, I basically didn’t work out for an entire month, and didn’t eat the healthiest either because we just weren’t given the option. People in Spain are all about the white bread, cheese, and fried food.

We walked EVERYWHERE, danced a TON, and never had the option of “late night” eating. So you know when you wake up and feel like you’ve been hit by a bus? Well ya that happened a LOT. I honestly didn’t gain any weight, and even though I worried from time to time that I was drinking too much (woops) or eating unhealthy foods I didn’t let that fear get in the way of me having an amazing time. Life is too short to be worried about the small things.

 

cheers!

Going back to reality after a month of fun, carefree times, was really hard actually. Spain > Delaware. Everyone in my group had MAJOR spain withdrawals..for a while I couldn’t even look at the pictures because it would make me so sad! We have all still kept in good touch by having spain reunion parties, but they just aren’t the same as actually being in Spain

Take me back to Spain now

Please and thank you

 

 

6 Comments on “Thursday Throwback-Studying Abroad in Spain”

  1. That ice bar looks so cool! Haha literally and figuratively. Sounds like quite an experience!

  2. […] It was a pimento pepper stuffed with herb goat cheese. SO good! The restaurant is a little pricey, but the food is delicious and it brought me back to Spain! […]

  3. […] a couple of days ago I made a batch of Lentil Soup, and it took me back to my month studying abroad in Spain, which I already blogged about a few weeks […]

  4. hi chelcie!! i just found your blog! i studied aboard in spain a year ago for a month and totally agree with spain > where im from haha it seems like i had a really similar experience as you! i stayed in madrid the first few days but then was in santandar the rest of the month. my group was great and we partied all the time 🙂 also this cracked me up bc its so true “People in Spain are all about the white bread, cheese, and fried food.” ahhh i wanna go back so bad. im glad i found your blog amiga!


Leave a Reply

