Banana Bread-best recipe ever!

Sometimes I like buying extra bananas, just so they can ripen to the point where making banana bread is completely necessary.

This cookbook never steers me wrong. I used the banana bread recipe out of the cookbook, only making a couple changes.

****

Banana Bread

Makes 1 9 inch loaf

Recipe adapted from the Flour cookbook

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup plus 2 tbsp granulated sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup canola oil

1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce

3 1/2 very ripe mashed bananas

2 tbsp non fat greek yogurt

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup dark chocolate chips (or you could substitute 3/4 cup chopped pecans)

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

In a bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon and set aside

Using an electric mixture, or by hand, beat together the eggs and sugar. Then add in the canola oil and applesauce. Next add in the mashed bananas, greek yogurt, and vanilla extract. Fold in the dry flour mixture with the wet mixture. Then stir in the chocolate chips. Pour mixture into a 9 inch loaf pan and bake for 70-75 minutes until top is golden brown and firm to the touch.

This banana bread is delicious eaten plain, with peanut butter on top, or crumbled over a bowl of warm oatmeal like I did this morning

So delicious!

So after a weekend of having way to much fun, I am now sick with a really bad sore throat and head cold. I don’t have much of an appetite but my breakfast still tasted delicious, mainly because of the banana bread.

I hope everyone has a great Monday!

<3Chelcie

 

 

7 Comments on “Banana Bread-best recipe ever!”

  1. Haha I don’t think I would like the Flour cookbook, but that banana bread looks delicious! I love making my own breads! The problem is I eat it all too quickly…

  2. Kate says:

    I love banana bread, and it’s even better with chocolate chips! For some reason, eating it plain just isn’t as good as eating it over oatmeal. I LOVE sweet bread and oats together!

  3. I ADORE banana bread. But you knwo? I don’t think I have ever had it with choc chips. Why not? No clue because it sounds delicious!

  4. […] I took them out to stir and put them back in the microwave for another 30 seconds. Topped with some Banana Bread and Mighty Maple PB. For not having much of an appetite I scarfed this bowl down without a […]


Leave a Reply

