Vegetable Curry with Eggplant and Sweet Potato

After going to the Tapas restaurant Friday night, a new leaf was turned over..my roommates realized they actually like the taste of curry!

What happened was one of the tapas we ordered Friday night was a stewed chicken with chick peas dish. We all came to a consensus that this was the best tapa of the night, and I told my roommates that what they were eating was a curry dish! They didn’t really believe me at first, but I told them I was going to make a curry dish this week, and they were going to like it!

I used one of the vegetable curry recipes my mom sent me, and made a few changes. Curry is one of my all time favorites! I am obsessed with indian and Thai food, and I’m so excited that now I can make curry recipes that my roommates will eat! HOORAYYY. It’s actually sad how excited I am..

So here’s how you make it! First, heat a soup pot over medium high heat with about 2 tbsp olive oil. Saute chopped yellow onion and chopped sweet potato for about 5 minutes.

In the meantime, gather all of the spices, tomato paste, chopped garlic, and chopped ginger together. Add all of these ingredients into the pan.

 

 

Then add in the rest of the veggies!

Allow the veggies to cook for a few minutes, and then add in the garbanzo beans and liquids: chicken stock, canned diced tomatoes, and enough water to cover the veggies.

Bring the mixture to a boil, then cover and reduce heat to simmer for about 15-20 minutes.

Serve warm over some cooked brown rice

SO SO GOOD. And this recipe makes a LOT of curry, perfect for leftovers:) I texted my roommate to ask if she liked it and her response was

“Yes so much actually!! I had 3 bowls..”

This curry is so comforting, yet so good for you! My favorite kind of dish:)

****

Vegetable Curry with Eggplant and Sweet Potato

Servings: 4-6 with a lot of leftovers!

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

2 tbsp olive oil

2 medium yellow onions, roughly chopped

2 medium sweet potatoes, roughly chopped

1 tbsp tomato paste

2 tbsp curry powder

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp cumin

1/2-1 tsp cayenne pepper (depending on how spicy you like it!)

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp chopped fresh ginger

2 cups broccoli florets

1 medium eggplant, chopped

2 cups green beans, trimmed and roughly chopped

2 1/2 cups chicken stock (or vegetable stock)

1 15oz canned diced tomatoes

1 15oz can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

apx. 1-1/2 cups water

salt to taste

Instructions:

Heat a soup pot over medium high heat. Add in olive oil, onions, and sweet potatoes. Cook for 5 minutes.

Next, add in tomato paste, garlic, ginger, curry powder, cayenne, paprika, and cumin. Stir to combine and cook for 2 more minutes

Add in the green beans, eggplant, and broccoli. Stir to combine and cook for 2 minutes.

Add in the garbanzo beans, chicken stock, diced tomatoes, and enough water so that all of the vegetables are immersed in liquid.

Bring the mixture to a boil, then cover pot and reduce heat to simmer. Simmer for 20 minutes.

Add salt to taste.

Serve warm over cooked brown rice.

 

7 Comments on “Vegetable Curry with Eggplant and Sweet Potato”

  1. healthycollegegirl says:

    wow this recipe looks so good! I am absolutely OBSESSED with sweet potatoes, and I love curry, so this looks like a winner!

  2. I love curry, as well! My boyfriend claims he doesn’t like it, but I think he just doesn’t know. He’s not willing to give it a try. It bothers me so much!!! Maybe I’ll have to trick him 😉

  3. ive never had curry!! what would you compare it too?

  4. […] Vegetable Curry with Eggplant and Sweet Potato […]


Leave a Reply

