Party Picture Fail + New Recipe!

Hi everyone!

So you know I said yesterday  I was going to take a lot of pictures from our party? Well I lied..

But I did manage to take a few pictures that included

The cheese tray I assembled

The shrimp cocktail

 

And The Salad by Ann-Marie!

This salad is so simple to make, and is a crowd pleaser! Our very close family friend (and our neighbor) Ann-Marie has passed down this recipe which we have made SO many times over the years! You should definitely make this salad for a party, or just to have for dinner one night because it really is that good!

Here is the full recipe!

The Salad by Ann-Marie- Mixed greens with pickled onions, candied pecans, and blue cheese crumbles

Servings: 9-12 large portions

Ingredients:

Pickled Onions:

-1 small red onion, sliced

-1/2 cup water

-2 tbsp red wine vinegar

-2 tbsp sugar

Candied Pecans:

-1 1/3 cup pecan halves

-1/4 cup honey

-3 tbsp corn syrup

Salad:

-2 bags (5 oz each) baby spinach

-4 cups mesculin

-1 tart green apple sliced

-1 cup blue cheese

Dressing:

-1/3 cup olive oil

-3 tbsp red wine vinegar

-1 tbsp dijon mustard

-1/2 tsp salt and pepper

Instructions:

-For the pickled onions, place all components in a container and refrigerate for at least 4 hours (this step can be done the day ahead of time) Once pickled, pat dry and add to salad

-For the candied pecans: Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Coat baking with a large sheet of foil and cooking spray. Combine ingredients in a bowl and spread in an even layer on the cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes. Allow nuts to cool and break them into clumps then add to the salad.

-Arrange salad, and toss with dressing right before serving.

Note: Whenever my mom makes this recipe, she always prepares the dressing, pickled onions, and candied pecans ahead of time and waits to slice the apple and assemble the salad until right before serving.

****

Oh and I also snapped a picture of Duke chewing his bone

He is such a muffin! (side note, he’s the perfect running companion because he pulls me so I don’t have to work as hard!)

I’m bringing my dogs back to school with me.

Speaking of school, these next couple of weeks are going to be super busy and stressful, so if I don’t post as often its because I’m slowly going insane thinking about prepping for final exams

I hope everyone has a nice, relaxing Sunday!

<3Chelcie

 

 

Leave a Reply

