Morning Glory Muffins-healthy and delicious!

I have a weird obsession with muffins

and scones

and zucchini and banana breads

But for some reason, I normally wait for a special occasion to bake up a loaf of bread, or batch of muffins

But let me tell you, do NOT wait for a special occasion to bake up these!

These would be Morning Glory Muffins that I made to bring for christmas..yes I know it was a special occasion, but I will be making these again very soon, no special occasion needed!

I would show you a step by step demonstration of how to make these but I literally just throw every ingredient in a mixing bowl and stir it all together. I prefer the simple methods of baking:)

****

Morning Glory Muffins

Serving Size: 12 muffins

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 25-30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup sugar substitute ( or 3/4 cup regular granulated sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 apple, cored and chopped
  • 1/2 cup sweetened flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup golden or regular raisins
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs + 1 egg white, (beaten)
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ground nutmeg
  • 4 tbsp chopped walnuts, toasted (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray. In a large mixing bowl, mix all of the ingredients together until full incorporated. Evenly divide the batter into the muffin pan and sprinkle each muffin with a few toasted walnuts . Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the top of the muffins are golden brown. Allow to cool slightly, and serve! These muffins can also be frozen, or stored in an air tight container for up to a week.

****

These muffins are healthy-fied (yes that’s a word) but I promise you no one will know

As a matter of fact, my Nanny exclaimed they were the best muffins she has ever had

Yes, she could have just been saying that to make me happy, but my other family members devoured these as well

And if you want to eat them like my papa does, put lots of butter on it

I’m thinking a nice spread of almond butter would be delicious

So ya..make these asap..you won’t be sorry

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What is your favorite baked breakfast good?

3 Comments on “Morning Glory Muffins-healthy and delicious!”

  1. I usually wait for a special occasion to make breads and muffins too – Only because I know I will eat all of them myself!!

  2. Cait's Plate says:

    I’m a totally sucker for a scone in the morning. These muffins looks awesome!


Leave a Reply

