Caramelized Banana Bread with toasted Coconut

Do you want to know what the secret to amazing banana bread is? butter.

And remember when I told you that this was the best recipe ever? I lied

And you know how everyone is focusing on cutting back on the sweets, and focusing on getting healthy for the new year by posting healthy recipes?

Well sorry I’m definitely NOT sorry because this my friends, is the best banana bread I have ever made. And I’ve made a LOT of banana bread

Here’s how you make it!

First up, slice up 3 bananas and place 1/2 cup of butter (1 whole stick baby) in a non-stick pan over medium heat

Once the butter is pretty much melted, add in the sliced bananas and turn the heat up to med-high heat

Allow the bananas to cook for about 3 minutes, and then add in  3/4 cup granulated sugar

Stir together, and allow the mixture to bubble away for about 5 minutes, constantly stirring and breaking up the banana pieces

oh em geeee

Remove the mixture from the heat, and allow to cool slightly (for about 10 minutes or so)..and try not to eat this entire pan straight up

In the meantime, toast up the coconut, (I just toasted mine in the toaster oven)

Mine took about 4 minutes in the toaster oven, but watch carefully! You want the coconut dark, but not burnt! I also used sweetened flaked coconut

Then whisk together 2 eggs with 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (because we’re making a healthy banana bread DUH)

Once the banana mixture has cooled for about 10 minutes (it will still be pretty hot) combine the mixture with the eggs and stir quickly so the eggs don’t scramble!

Then add in 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1 tsp baking soda

Stir stir stir

This batter taste pretty amazing..but I wouldn’t know that or anything

Pour into a bread pan, and top with the toasted coconut!

And bake for 55 minutes at 350 degrees F

GAHH this is so good!! Optional add-ins would be chocolate chips or toasted pecans, but I honestly don’t think this bread needs anything else! Maybe an extra smear of butter on top..maybe.

***

Caramelized Banana Bread with Toasted Coconut

Servings: 1 Loaf

Prep time-25 minutes

Bake time: 55 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter
  • 3 bananas, thinly sliced
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

For Topping:

1 cup sweetened coconut flake, toasted

Optional Add-ins:

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup toasted pecans

Instructions: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a non-stick saute pan, place 1 stick of butter over medium heat. Once butter is mostly melted, add in the sliced bananas and cook for 3 minutes. Then add in the granulated sugar, raise the heat to high, and cook for 5 more minutes, stirring constantly. After 5 minutes, remove from the heat and set aside to cool for 10 minutes. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs and applesauce. Add in the banana mixture, mixing quickly to prevent the eggs from scrambling. Then add in the flour, baking soda, and salt, and stir to combine. In a greased loaf pan, pour in the batter and top with the toasted coconut. Bake for 55 minutes. Allow the bread to cool slightly, and then slice and serve!

The bread will last in an airtight container for up to 1 week, and freezes really well!

****

<3Chelcie

 

16 Comments on “Caramelized Banana Bread with toasted Coconut”

  1. omg. this looks amazing. definitely bookmarking! 🙂

  2. Oh. My. Gosh. Yes, I’m bookmarking and making as soon as my bananas get ripe! (Haha that sounds funny to me for some reason.) Thank you for sharing this!

  3. Krystie says:

    Wow that looks so good! Found your blog just now and I have to say I need to make this!! Cant wait to read more from your blog 🙂

  4. Allison says:

    This looks great…especially the coconut!

  5. Looks amazing. Will be trying soon… maybe as soon as this weekend.

  6. Wow, that looks awesome! 🙂 I’m a big fan of banana bread and this looks like it would take it to the next level and taste even better than normal banana bread! Thanks for sharing the recipe! 😀

  7. CHELSIE! this look fabulous! I am allergic to coconut in that form but I really, really like the banana idea… I must try this thanks for sharing!

  8. This looks INCREDIBLE! Coconut on banana bread is so creative!

  9. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog says:

    You have me hooked once I read the title. That banana bread look beyond amazing! Is it possible for you to send me some? haha. 😉

  10. I reallllly love coconut. Sounds delicious!

  11. Kate says:

    This looks so good! I love banana bread, and it definitely doesn’t get the recognition it deserves. I never thought to caramelize the bananas- that would be especially good!

  12. This looks amazing!! Definitely an indulgent treat but I could make this for a crowd!


Leave a Reply

