The Spaghetti Squash Story

So here’s what happened.

Last night my mom made a delicious family dinner that included her homemade spaghetti sauce, grilled garlic bread, and salad.

We had leftover spaghetti squash in the fridge, so instead of having regular spaghetti I was going to have the spaghetti squash instead so I put the container out by the sink

When I went over to get my plate, I noticed the container was empty. My mom innocently thought I didn’t want it anymore and tossed it down the drain

In my mind I started to freak out “Now I don’t want to eat the pasta because there are too many calories in pasta and less in spaghetti squash”

Let’s backtrack a little bit..

I haven’t alluded to any bad past eating habits on the blog because I don’t normally post anything serious/negative honestly because I don’t really have a guts to be as open as other bloggers..but here we go..

Basically summing it up, when I set out to loose weight the summer going into my senior year of high school it was the only thing I was focused on..well that and raising my precious lucy:)

she was sooo wittttleee

I went to the gym every.single.day and told myself I was going to start counting calories using livestrong.com and limit my calorie intake to 1200 a day

I know there is a ton of criticism and different opinions on how many calories you need every day to loose weight in a healthy way, but this number for some reason was ingrained in my brain and I stuck to it

After the whole summer I lost about 12 pounds. People were telling me how “skinny” I looked and it made me just want to keep going

I went out and bought a scale at the beginning of that summer, and pretty much weighed myself every day well into my senior year of high school

After those 12 pounds I pretty much reached a plateau but continued to count calories and 1200 was ALWAYS the limit..no exceptions.

This was pretty much just a habit all throughout my senior year of high school, and for senior year prom I did a special “cleanse” 4 days before the 2 proms I went to to make sure I would look extra skinny in my prom dresses…dumb I know

This was me in at one of my proms. The thing was I never got to a point where I was an unhealthy weight for the height I am at all..it was just the actions I was taking were unhealthy for me

Fast forward to college..I tried to maintain the 1200 calories a day..but I was SO much more active and just couldn’t do it. I walked more then I ever have in my life, and went to the gym. I’m pretty sure first semester in college I lost a few pounds rather than gaining the “freshman 15”

Then I went to Spain and for the first time I didn’t have control over what I ate. I basically took a month off of exercising (unless you count dancing in the clubs:)..and while I was 100% secure with everything, I was finally able to step back and realize there is more to life than healthy eating and exercise

Discovering healthy living blogs also made a HUGE impact. I use to eat a lot more processed so-called “diet” food and now my view on the food I eat is WAY different. I would have never let myself eat 300-400 calorie bowls of oatmeal in the morning before because I would be SO worried that it wouldn’t allow me enough calories for the rest of the day

Basically, I’m not going to lie and say that A. I never count calories anymore and B. I’m 100% happy with the way I look. Due to last nights incident, that clearly is not the case. But its something I’m continuing to work on..focusing on living a healthy lifestyle rather than a restricted one

The end for now.

<3Chelcie

 

11 Comments on “The Spaghetti Squash Story”

  1. It’s very important that you take control of this before it gets out of hand – and that seems to be what you’re doing!!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    Thank you so much for opening up to us Chelcie! It sounds like we have a very similar weight loss story with the calorie restricting and constant working out. Healthy living blogs were a HUGE lifesaver for me as well.

    Good luck on today’s BR challenge πŸ˜‰

  3. Alicia says:

    I love that you were able to open up about your past, it takes a very strong person to 1. be able to recognize the problem and 2. to acknowledge it and share it with others. Way to go girl! I had a similar issue with food/working out right after high school and eating too much & over-indulging was just too hard for me to handle for the longest time. I knew that guilty feeling and HATE it, but I’m slowly getting a greater grip on the reality of living healthy and EATING clean instead of eating diet food and still feeling ton of remorse afterwards. I think it’s a struggle that we’ll have to deal with the rest of our lives, but it’ll just slowly get easier with time. πŸ˜‰

  4. You have no idea how much I appreciated this post!!! I did the same thing in high school and I’ve STILL had trouble letting go of my calorie counting. (But now I mostly just use the daily plate to make sure I’m getting enough protein. I’m setting my calorie goals at WAY more than 1,200!!!) But seriously, I’ve had the 1,200 magic number stuck in my head for so long, because so many MAGAZINES and things tell you that’s what you need! Healthy living blogs have made such a difference in my life because I’ve realized how much more fuel I need. Plus there is so much more to being happy.

    Thanks again for sharing your story! I really love your blog πŸ™‚

  5. I’m glad that you’ve found more of a healthy balance in your life πŸ™‚ Where in Spain did you go?! I LOVED Barcelona.

  6. Kristin Fretz says:

    I’m so proud of you for opening up Chelcie! I love following your blog and getting to know more and more about you. I hope that all of this positive feedback you are getting from your followers inspires you to continue opening up and sharing those things that are harder to share. Your story has a bigger impact on people than you realize!! πŸ™‚ love you


Leave a Reply

