Burning down the House

Good Morning!

You know what is really annoying to me? The fact that I can’t seem to sleep in past 8:30 anymore! Yes waking up at 8:30 does not count as sleeping in..don’t make fun of me I’m still in college

ANywho..back tracking to yesterday..After Molly and I cleaned the apartment a bit, I got ready to do bodyrock week 2 day 1 workout

It was extremely difficult and I never want to do another burpee as long as I live..too bad I will probably have to do some today when I do week 2 day 2 work out in a bit

After I completed the work out, a nice refreshing smoothie sounded perfect

In the mix: 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt, 1/4 cup frozen mixed berries, 1 tsp peanut butter, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, a couple ice cubes, and about 1 cup almond milk. I normally don’t make smoothies because I find that they don’t keep me satisfied for very long, but I think the combination of the greek yogurt, protein power, and peanut butter really did the trick! I was full for about 4 hours

For a little snack yesterday I decided to test out the apple slicer I got for christmas!

works like a charm

For our first home cooked meal back in our apartment, I decided to make baked terriyaki tofu with quinoa and stir fried veggies

I cooked the quinoa using 1 cup light coconut milk, 1 cup of water, and 1 tbsp thai red chile paste..it was a good combination!

I baked the tofu at 375 degrees F for about 15 minutes, flipped them over, and put them back in for 5 more minutes

In the last 5 minutes of cooking..somehow this happened

I started to see some smoking around the oven, then I opened the oven and smoke poured out, then the fire alarm went off, and it took us a few minutes to figure out how to turn the fire alarm off

However it wasn’t as bad as the time Molly set off the fire alarm in our entire apartment building by burning a bag of popcorn..this happened around 11:30 at night during finals week..needless to say Molly was highly embarassed and everyone in our building wanted to kill us..but they didn’t know it was us that caused the commotion..

Luckily the Tofu still tasted delicious

Quick stir-fry dinners are definitely some of my favorites

And in case your wondering, the burnt tofu pan is still soaking in my sink right now..I’m hoping that I will be able to clean it sometime in the near future

The only thing I have on the agenda today is another bodyrock workout and a meeting for my sorority at 4

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya! Do you have any bad fire alarm stories?

6 Comments on “Burning down the House”

  1. I actually set off the alarm the other night! Haha. And nothing was evens smoking, so weird. I can’t sleep late either! The latest I’ve slept was 9:30 and that’s soo late for me!

  2. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog says:

    Love your stir-fried dinner! It looks delicious.
    I set off the alarm today because I left the skillet on high and was busy doing something else. there was lots of smoke on the stove. Luckily my alarm didn’t affect any of my neighbors around my apartment. 🙂

  3. raceready says:

    Cooking tofu intimidates me, but this looks simple enough that I could probably handle it haha. Love your blog!

  4. haha I set off my apartments alarm roasting sweet potato fries once. if i remember correctly they still turned out delicious! your tofu looks great! i love roasting mine…although i’ve never sliced it thin like that before. I will have to try it next time


Leave a Reply

