Spicy Tomato Feta Shrimp

Dinner tonight was a winner

Hey look I just rimed!

k.

This dish was inspired by the meal I had at my friend Eliza’s house for our mother daughter dinner!

Spicy Tomato and Feta Shrimp! Here’s how you make it

First, saute 1/3 cup chopped onion and 1 clove diced garlic over medium heat in 1 tsp olive oil

After about 3 minutes, add in 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and 1 tsp red pepper flakes

Once the onion is slightly browned and translucent (it takes about 3 minutes) add in the tomatoes

I used a can of whole peeled tomatoes because that is what I had..so I used a fork to mash them up

Then add in about 1/4 of a pound of peeled and de-vained shrimp

Simmer the shrimp for about 5 minutes, turn off the heat, and add in 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

Stir all together, season to taste, and serve! This would be great served with pasta, over cous cous (like I did tonight), or just in a bowl with a piece of crusty french bread!

****

Spicy Tomato Feta Shrimp

Servings: 2

Total time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 pound peeled + de-vained shrimp
  • 1/3 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1 clove garlic, diced
  • 1 14.5 oz can whole peeled tomatos (or diced tomatoes)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2  tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp olive oil

Instructions: Bring a saute pan to medium heat with 1 tsp olive oil. Add in the chopped onion and garlic and cook for 3 minutes. Add in the red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper, and cook until onions are brown and translucent (about another 2-3 minutes). Then, add in the tomatoes, and mash down with a fork. Add in the shrimp, and simmer for 5 minutes until shrimp are just cooked through. Remove the pan from the heat, and stir in the feta cheese. Season to taste and serve warm!

Note: An addition of lemon zest or dried italian seasoning would be great! Serve with pasta, cous cous, or with some bread for dipping!

****

I cooked up some cous cous and wilted some spinach to go alongside. Delicious! Normally cheese and seafood don’t mix, but I’m telling you shrimp and feta cheese is an AWESOME combination!

Note to self: Cook shrimp more often

And thanks to Eliza and her mom for the recipe inspiration!

throwback picture. Eliza and I at our graduation Party:)

Miss you Eliza!

And ya..make this shrimp dish you won’t be sorry! (As I sit here typing this my roommate is helping herself to seconds:)

I’m going to go continue watching Real Housewives of Beverly Hills episodes I’ve already seen until the new episode comes on at 9! (I promise I have a life..)

Catch ya later!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: Do you like shrimp? What is your favorite way to eat shrimp?

I’m a BIG fan of shrimp cocktail..but I also love shrimp scampi! (or this dish:) )

 

6 Comments on “Spicy Tomato Feta Shrimp”

  1. Aww, I need to try this! I have another similar recipe using shrimp and feta and love it!! This sounds fabulous! I love shrimp in all kinds of ways! And that pic with your friend is adorable!

  2. I love shrimp. I love feta. I love spicy. Thank you, Chelcie.

  3. shrimp and feta are two of my favorite things! this dish looks great!

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    This looks delicious, Chelcie! I love feta, but goat cheese is a little more of my thaang sometimes. Do you think it would work with that too?


Leave a Reply

