Vegetarian Chili Recipe

Hi!

So while I was home for break I purchased these 2 books

Of course I left the hard copy of the Hunger Games at home #fail..but I have started reading it! My friend sent me all 3 books that she had downloaded on her computer..I think I need to read more before it gets really good..I’m only about 40 pages in

But ANYways moving onto the cookbook..I have SO many recipes bookmarked, and I finally got around to making one of the recipes..but of course I changed it a little bit so I can call the recipe my own:)

I started out by sauteing 2 carrots, 1 bell pepper, and 1 onion in olive oil with chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper

I cooked the veggies for about 15 minutes over medium heat

Then I added in 2 14oz can’s of whole peeled tomatoes, and 1 tbsp of chipolte peppers in adobo

Crush the tomatoes with a wooden spoon, turn the heat to high to bring the mixture to a boil, and then reduce the heat to low and simmer for about 20 minutes

Then I added in one 24 oz can of drained black beans, and one 14oz can of kidney beans. Then I filled the 24 oz can with water and poured it in the pot to help thin out the soup. I simmered the mixture for another 20 minutes. The final step was to stir in the tomato paste and season to taste.

I used my immersion blender to puree the chili a little bit, but that is optional. If you don’t have an immersion blender, you could transfer about 1 cup of the chili to a blender, and then once blended, pour back into the chili.

This chili is a little smoky from the chipolte peppers in adobo, and has a nice spice to it. Topped with cheese or cilantro makes for the perfect bowl of chili

nom nom nom..I had some more for lunch today..and now there is only about a bowl left..WAH. I’ll be making this again very soon!

Vegetarian Chili

Servings: 4

Total Time: about 1 hour

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp chipolte in adobo
  • 1 28 oz can whole peeled tomatoes
  • 1 24oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 14 oz can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 tbsp tomato paste

Instructions: Heat the olive oil in a medium soup pot over medium heat. Add the onion, carrot, bell pepper, garlic, chili powder, cumin, black pepper. Cook for 15 minutes, stirring continuously. Add the chipolte peppers and tomatoes, and use a wooden spoon to crush the tomatoes, and turn the heat up to high to bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes. Add in the beans and simmer for another 20 minutes. Stir in the tomato paste and season to taste. Serve warm!

Enjoy!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What’s your favorite way to eat chili? Do you have a favorite recipe?..link up!:)

 

 

7 Comments on “Vegetarian Chili Recipe”

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    Don’t worry, you’re going to hit a point in The Hunger Games when you wont be able to put it down! I just finished it a few weeks ago and LOVED the second-half on.

    …Now… if only I could find the time to pick up #2… haha

  2. I love chili in all forms, so this looks very good. Book 2 was the best IMO and book 3 gets kind of bleh. I can’t wait for the movie though!

  3. Jenn says:

    Chili is always a hit in my house. My husband goes nutzo for it! My favorite combo is lentils, beans and root veggies. Really delicious and super satisfying too.

  4. Kate says:

    Haha, my friend emailed me the Hunger Games trilogy too! I need to read them soon- everyone I know loves them.


Leave a Reply

