Soup and Sandwich Recipes

Hi!!

TGIF! and no I don’t celebrate TGIT(thank god its thursday) anymore because I have class at 9am on friday..yuck.

But anyways I have 2 new recipes to share with you! And both are SO so easy!

First we have to talk about my favorite sandwich combination of all time

There is a coffee shop at my school called Central Perk and I pretty much lived there my freshman year of college..mainly because of one sandwich they offer called the All-in-One which has Turkey, Lettuce, Tomato, Cucumber, Avocado, Hummus, Honey Mustard, Apple, and Mozzarella Cheese

It. is. AWESOME..except they charge $10 for it! So yes about half of my savings from last year went towards these sandwiches..but the good news about this year is that I can make my own now for way cheaper..so more money to spend on coffee:)

The tomato is hiding in there somewhere..UGH this is SO good! At central perk I get the sandwich on whole wheat bread, but to switch things up I made mine on a whole wheat wrap and it was devoured

The All-in-One turkey Sandwich

Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 3oz sliced turkey
  • 1 whole wheat wrap, or 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 2 tomato slices
  • 1/4 green apple, thinly sliced
  • 3 cucumber slices
  • 1/4 cup mixed greens
  • 1/4 avocado, sliced
  • 1 tsp honey mustard
  • 1 tbsp hummus
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Instructions: Combine together in a wrap or on toasted whole wheat bread. Easy peasy

*****

Now onto my dinner last night..Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla Soup

I’ve decided there is no way to make soup look pretty on camera..but just trust me in saying that this soup is delicious..especially with some shredded cheese, hot sauce, and tortilla chips crumbled on top

Oh and the best part..it took me about 4 minutes to put all the ingredients in the crock pot, and 4 hours later I had soup! I may have a love affair with my crock pot..its just so great

****

Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla Soup

Servings: About 6

Total Time: 4 hours (in the crock pot) 5 minutes prep time

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound chicken tenders (about 8 tenders)
  • 1 140z can black beans
  • 1 bag frozen corn
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1 140z can diced tomatos
  • 1 tbsp chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • (water if needed)
  • Instructions:
  1. Combine all ingredients in your crock pot.
  2. Add water if needed to cover all of the ingredients.
  3. Turn crock pot on high for 4 hours, or cook on low for 6 hours.
  4. Remove chicken from the crock pot and shred using two forks.
  5. Place the shredded chicken back in the soup
  6. Season to taste.
  7. Serve with avocado, shredded cheese, and tortilla chips!

It doesn’t look too pretty but it tastes delicious! And I made this soup a few days ago so its almost gone..:(

on another random but awesome note, Adri from Foodie Be Fit, tagged me in the Versatile Blogger award! Thanks again Adri! So I will be posting about that later today probably!

I hope everyone is having a great day so far!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What is your favorite sandwich combination?

 

10 Comments on “Soup and Sandwich Recipes”

  1. I’ll definitely be trying out this soup recipe! I looove any & all sandwiches from Panera!

  2. I loooove soups and sandwiches! They can be such a refreshing, healthy, comfort food!

  3. This is one amazing combination…. I always get it at Panera 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

  4. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog says:

    I love soup and salad combo. What a delicious recipe for both!

    I hope you’re having a great weekend! 🙂

  5. Ooh I love soup and my crockpot, so I’m gonna have to try this recipe.

  6. I LOVE apples in my sandwiches, I’m so glad you do too! And mmmm avocado? Perfect!

  7. I’ve never added apples to my sandwiches before, but really want to try it now! 🙂 This pairing looks awesome 🙂

  8. Soup and a sandwich.. one of my favorite combos! 🙂


Leave a Reply

