Bring on Spring!

Hi everyone!

TGIF!!

So I don’t know how the weather has been near you..but this week has been INSANELY beautiful..70’s and sunny is the perfect weather in my opinion!

Main things I look forward to in the springtime are

Daging

my favorite thing EVER..drinking during the day is just so much fun..and um tomorrow is st. patty’s day!! Don’t worry I’ve had my outfit planned out for a while.. i’m so excited!!

Spring Clothing

I feel like I have way more options of clothes for spring time than I do for winter..and I have a few items on my wish list (mom take note 🙂 )

I don’t own a pair of TOMS yet and these seem like the PERFECT pair

 

These are Sperry wedges and I’m obsessed

i LOVE spring dresess..and this one is really simple and cute

Source

and you know what I also love about warm weather

the Food!

Salads and summer eating is my all time favorite..I love fresh corn on the cob, grilled foods, and an array of different types of salads

In the summertime I would say about half of our meals consist of corn on the cob, food off the grill, and fresh tomato salads

So since I was in a springy mood this week, and finally got around to cooking something, I decided to make a roasted vegetable cous cous salad

Here’s how I made it

First I roasted 4 chopped zucchinis and 2 chopped red onions tossed in a little olive oil, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes at 375 for 35 minutes

mmm roasted veggies:)

While the veggies were in the oven I cooked my cous cous

I brought 1 1/2 cup chicken stock to a boil with 1 tsp garlic powder

Once the stock came to a boil I added in the cous cous, covered the pot, and removed the pot from the heat to cook for 5 minutes

quickest cooking grain around! I love cous cous

Then in a bowl I combined my roasted vegetables with 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp lemon zest, and 2 tbsp chopped parsley

All stirred together

Then I added in the cous cous and seasoned to taste

YUM

And here is what my dinner looked like the other night

the perfect spring time meal! ps I highly recommend adding in goat cheese to the cous cous salad but if you are surrounded by weirdos that don’t like goat cheese (I’m looking at you Molly and Sonny) then feel free to just top the cous cous with a generous portion like I did!

*****

Roasted Vegetable Cous Cous Salad

Servings: 6 side portions

Total Time: Apx 45 minutes (only about 15 minutes active prep time)

Ingredients:

  • 4 zucchini, roughly chopped
  • 2 red onions, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp red pepper flake
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 cup cous cous
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice

Optional: 1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese or feta cheese

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. On a baking sheet combine zucchini, red onion, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, red pepper flake, salt and pepper. Toss together and stick in the oven for 35 minutes, stirring occasionally
  3. In the meantime, bring the chicken stock to a boil with 1 tsp garlic powder. Once the liquid is boiling add in the cous cous, remove from heat, and cover the pan. Cook for 5 minutes until all liquid is absorbed
  4. In a bowl combine roasted vegetables, lemon juice, lemon zest, and parsley, stir to combine
  5. Fluff up the cooked cous cous with a fork and add into the roasted vegetable mixture
  6. Season to taste and serve either at room temperature or warm.

Optional: Stir in 1/2 cup crumbled feta or goat cheese-highly recommended!

YUM

This is the perfect dish to make ahead of time and have on hand for quick meals! It is also perfect to bring to a summer party!

i hope everyone has a great weekend!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What do you look most forward to in the spring time?

All of the above 🙂

 

4 Comments on “Bring on Spring!”

  1. EveryCraving says:

    I look forward to the fresh, spring food! haha. I’ve been craving couscous lately and this recipe just looks so good! Can’t go wrong with roasted veggies!

  2. I look forward to walking out side in shorts and a tank and being warm! 🙂

  3. I love the styles of spring time! And grilling outside without the onslaught of mosquito’s yet. 🙂

  4. Emily says:

    I love everything about spring! The warmer weather, the clothes, the food…it’s all amazing. I eat so much fruit during the spring/summer months…I’ve already started craving it like a madwoman!
    I’m in love with those Sperry wedges, by the way. I need to go spring-time clothes shopping. (:


Leave a Reply

