Easy Mexican Quinoa

Hi!

so last night I made dinner in about 20 minutes

and it was awesome

I also used a new product!

Tricolor Quinoa! Now we all know I love quinoa so when I was at Trader Joes a couple weeks ago I picked up this bag

and because we love mexican food and mexican night in this apartment I decided to get creative and make Mexican Quinoa

First up in a small soup pot I placed 1 cup of quinoa with 2 cups of chicken stock and 1/2 of a packet of taco seasoning

cover and bring to a boil

Meanwhile, heat a non-stick saute pan over med-high heat with a few sprays of cooking spray. Add in 1 chopped onion and 2 cloves diced garlic

once the quinoa comes to a boil, reduce the heat to low and cook for another 10-15 minutes

Let the onions cook for about 4 minutes and then add in 1 chopped red bell pepper, 2 chopped green bell peppers, and the rest of the taco seasoning

Cook for about 5 minutes until the peppers start to cook down a bit

Then add in 1 can drained black beans and 1 can diced tomatoes

cook for about 4 more minutes

Then add in the cooked quinoa

mound of quinoa!

stir all together and its done!

oh but don’t forget your toppings!

I put out a mix of chopped cilantro, avocado, salsa verde (SO good!!), cheddar cheese, and hot sauce

this was my bowl..a nice hearty serving! this dinner was so delicious and SO easy

This will definitely become a rotation in our weekly meals!

*****

Easy Mexican Quinoa

Servings: 4

Total Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 pack taco seasoning (I use McCormick)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 3 bell peppers (whichever color you like!) chopped
  • 1 140z can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 14oz can diced tomatoes

Topping Options: Shredded Cheddar cheese, chopped avocado, lime juice, cilantro, hot sauce

Instructions:

  1. Place quinoa, chicken stock, and half of the packet of taco seasoning in a small sauce pan. Cover and bring to a boil
  2. Meanwhile, heat a medium non-stick saute pan over med-high heat and spray a few sprays of cooking spray. Add in the onion and garlic and cook for 2 minutes
  3. Next add in the peppers and the rest of the taco seasoning. Cook for 4 more minutes
  4. Once the quinoa comes to a boil, reduce the heat to low and cook for 10-15 minutes (until all the liquid is absorbed)
  5. To the pepper mixture add in the black beans and diced tomatoes and cook for 4 more minutes. Season to taste
  6. Add in the cooked quinoa to the pepper mixture, stir to combine, and serve warm!
  7. Don’t forget to add the delicious toppings!

****

I hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: Favorite quinoa recipe?! Feel free to share links!

I think thai fried quinoa will always be my favorite!

5 Comments on “Easy Mexican Quinoa”

  1. Alexandra says:

    Dude this just blew my mind with deliciousness! I can’t wait for TJ’s to get here in Texas so I can find that quinoa!

  2. I’m craving mexican now!!! Lol yum!

  3. ittybitsofbalance says:

    I love that you and your roommates eat together! That’s something that I wish I could do, but my roommate and I have preeettyy different tastes!

  4. Lindsay Irwin says:

    THIS LOOKS DELISH. i want to come next time 🙂

  5. That looks SO yummy and easy! I need to be more experimental in the kitchen.


Leave a Reply

