WIAW-An “Off” Day

Hi!

wow its already Wednesday?! this week is one big haze for me

because

1. Its Greek Week..which basically means mixers every night=no sleep

2. AIRBAND IS ON FRIDAY!..in case your wondering what Airband is..its a HUGE dance competition that all of greek life participates in so on top of going out last night to a mixer, I was up at 7am for Airband practice

3. I NEED SLEEP

Next week will be sleep catch up time..

anywho onto another WIAW!

now I guess my day of eating yesterday really started at around 12:30am when I got home

and then proceeded to eat about half a container of sabra hummus and half a bag of terra sweet potato chips..not in a sober state of mind just in case you were wondering

so I woke up this morning feeling LESS than stellar (okay I was hungover) and went to Airband practice from 7-9am

then I came home, and couldn’t handle the thought of eating anything yet

Breakfast

after a couple hours of wanting to DIE laying on my couch I decided I should probably eat something so a banana and peanut butter it was. It didn’t really taste all that appealing but at least it was something!

Lunch

since my breakfast was pretty lame-o I got hungry for lunch around 11

turkey wrap with grapes it was!

in my wrap went honey mustard, turkey (obvz), tomato, shredded cheddar cheese, and avocado

I still didn’t feel too great after this, but it tasted better than the banana did thats for sure

Snackies

I’m not going to lie, I was feeling pretty crappy yesterday and was mad at myself for eating so much when I came home at night. I’ve been really good about not drunk eating recently, so I was mad at myself for doing so

I know it sounds silly, but I’ve been working really hard lately at listening to my body and respecting it (well to a certain extent if you don’t count alcohol lol) and i was mad at myself for mindlessly eating

but I realize that IĀ  shouldn’t beat myself up about it and just accept it and move on!

Speaking of food related issues, i’ve been loving how honest Brittany who blogs at Itty Bits of Balance has been in her posts lately about intuitive eating and listening to your body

in this post she talks about facing “fear foods” meaning a food that you deprive yourself of and categorize as “bad” or dangerous to have around

so since i’m testing out my intuitive eating skills and facing “fear foods” as well, I picked up a box of these yesterday

now Annies Cheddar bunnies are one of my favorite things ever! (strange? perhaps..but whatever)..I don’t ever buy them, along with gold fish, cheeze-its, chex mix, etc..because I’m afraid that i’ll eat way more than a serving and then just feel bad about myself for doing so

so to test out my intuitive eating skills i decided to pick up a box! So you bet I had some for a snack! And I am happy to say I kept the serving to about one serving size! boo yah baby

oh and I also picked up one of these

mainly to help with my hangover lol..don’t judge I’m in college okay?!

I had never tried a coconut water before but I’ve heard its a great cure for a hangover..so I tested it out! First sip I thought it tasted NASTY..and then I kept drinking it and it wasn’t that bad

and I think it helped a little bit too! score!

I also snacked on a few pb filled pretzels as well

wow I’m seriously slacking on my veggie intake!

Gym Time!

i made it to the gym! even though its the LAST thing I felt up to doing yesterday, i went to an hour Muscle Pump class and I was so happy I went!

Dinner

oh boy dinner was delicious

I made homemade eggplant parmesan (recipe coming your way soon!) with some pasta and a spinach salad alongside! Yay for me eating some salad!

Dessert

small and sweet. about 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt, a drizzle of sugar free maple syrup, a few pb cheerios, and a few semi sweet chocolate chips

AH-mazing combo. try it now.

******

Sorry for a kind of word heavy post! I just felt the need to address how important it is to respect your body, and not be so hard on yourself!

no one is perfect, and healthy living isan’t about a quick fix, and deprivation

its about listening to your body, feeding it well but not depriving it, and most importantly stepping back and just LIVING

Don’t Worry, be Happy:)

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: Do you resist buying certain items at the store in fear that you’ll eat the whole thing in one sitting?

14 Comments on “WIAW-An “Off” Day”

  1. FitNjess says:

    haha its kind of funny because I was the same way with coconut water…like the more I sip it, the better it tastes. It really does depend on the flavor and the brand..for example PHENOM brand is really gross or at least I think so!!

    I also have problems eating too much of foods like pretzels, crackers, granola and nuts! It is all about portion control and realizing you can have these foods when you want so you don’t have to sit down and eat the whole box/bag. It can be a challenge but I think its awesome you are buying the foods like these to eliminate “fear” of overeating!!

  2. It’s funny because a lot of times when I go out drinking, I have NO desire to eat afterwards. I just want to chug water and go to sleep ASAP. But then other times (it’s usually when i’ve had a little too much to drink lol) I want to eat the worlddd. So I know what you mean! I actually like coconut water, definitely perfect hangover cure!

  3. We were both loving the Annie’s bunnies yesterday! You the cheddar, and me the graham! šŸ™‚ I don’t care if they are directed towards children, I still love them!

  4. Don’t beat yourself up, it happens. Your eats look great though.

  5. Thank you for your honesty on this! It really is something that so many of us struggle with and opening up about it helps you to understand the thoughts and actions more.. I know it does for me šŸ™‚ There are certainly foods I avoid getting for fear of not being able to control myself- candy is a major one, but i am getting better about eating a serving and then putting them away, sans binge!
    Drunk eating happens to all of us (I usually go for cereal) but you just have to move on šŸ™‚ Enjoy the week, but try to get some sleep haha

  6. ittybitsofbalance says:

    I’m so glad that you’re enjoying my honest posts, Chelcie! I’ve been telling Will that I had no idea that I had so much depth in my life haha šŸ˜‰

    About the intuitive eating, I think it’s GREAT that you took the plunge with the bunnies. Ever since my mishap with the chocolate covered pretzels, I’ve been doing pretty good and still have 2 bags left from my 3-bag-purchase! It’s very true– Once I took away the fear-factor from the foods, I started being able to eat them in moderation and decide when I was done. I’m so glad to hear you’re seeing progress too!

    I would HIGHLY recommend reading the book that I talked about on my blog on Intuitive Eating. You can buy it on Amazon for like $10, but it’s REALLY helped my thinking throughout all of these hidden food issues I never knew I had. I truly feel like you would benefit from it as well. Here is the link if you’re interested: http://www.amazon.com/Intuitive-Eating-Revolutionary-Program-Works/dp/0312321236

    Okay, I’m done with my essay-comment now. Have a beautiful day!

  7. I demand LOTS of pictures from this airband your speak of!!!! haha that sounds awesome!

    Hope you can catch up on sleep soon! šŸ™‚

  8. I just made eggplant parmesan last night!

    Sorry to hear about your hang over, but looks like you tried some good stuff to cure it!

  9. I’m with you on the coconut water lol. I always think that most of them taste like chilled sweat, but I end up chugging it all anyway. The absolute BEST tasting coconut water I’ve had is the ZICO chocolate flavor…yummmmm. Definitely not armpit sweat.

  10. sfrick08 says:

    coconut water is the BEST THING EVER! I buy those massive sized Zico bottles and keep one in the fridge for any post-partying needs (I am about to graduate and thus my hangover pain has dramatically increased over this past year… so so sad!). I find if I chug a ton of it before bed I can feel semi normal in the morning! If you don’t like the flavor though you should also look into pedialyte packs (my friends think its so weird i use these). Its little to-go packs like crystal light of super electrolyte heavy stuff (supposed to be for dehydrated children… whoops). I bring it in my fanny pack when we go on a houseboating trip every spring and it has saved me numerous times!

    Just wait until you turn 21… Food starts mysteriously “disappearing”… especially birthday cake… hahahaha

  11. sfrick08 says:

    You should try Pedialyte for easy and portable hangover cures also (you can buy it in powder-packs!). Its for dehydrated/vomiting children, but hey, it works! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

