Crab Cakes and Dogs

Hi!

3 days until I go home

and 3 exams left. AH.

summer is a comin!

so before I talk about delicious eats from yesterday I have to tell you about the DOGS I got to hang out with!

a local organization that raises dogs to be therapy dogs brought a bunch of their dogs to the green outside our library for students to pet for a nice study break

as soon as me and Molly heard this we walked all the way to the library (no not to study for exams like everyone else)..to hang out with the dogs of course!

i wish I was kidding

this was a nice golden I met:)

and are you ready for the biggest dog EVER

this picture doesn’t even do it justice..he was HUGE! his face was like 3 of my faces

I love dogs

a little too much but that’s okay.

moving onto food..

yesterday I went out to lunch with my friend to a place I’d never been to before called Main Squeeze

I can’t believe I had never been before because they sell really unique health foodie type items..including fresh vegetable juices that i ALMOST tried but got to scared

but for my lunch I got a sandwich called the Turkey vs. Goat which had turkey, goat cheese, cranberry mustard, and lettuce served on whole grain bread

SO GOOD.

yes I ordered it because it was the only item on the menu with goat cheese

whatevs.

and for dinner last night I defrosted the pound of crab we’ve had in our freezer since I got it in Maryland during Easter to make some crab cakes!

Simple Baked Crab Cakes

Servings: 7 medium sized crab cakes

Total Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound lump crab meat
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/2 tbsp light mayo
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp old bay seasoning
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard (I had to use honey mustard and it surprisingly tasted fine!)
  • 1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley
  • 1/2 tsp salt + 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used italian seasoned bread crumbs)
  • 1 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp hot sauce

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees F and get a baking sheet ready
  2. In a bowl combine all the ingredients
  3. Form about 7 equal patties using your hands
  4. Bake for 15 minutes and serve!

Note: These are great to make ahead of time and keep in the fridge until you are ready to bake them!

these turned out great for me pretty much making up the recipe!

i also boiled some corn to have a complete summer meal!

and of course i topped my crab cakes with some siracha sauce šŸ™‚

such a delicious meal!

alright,Ā  time to go study a bit more, take an exam, and then go study for my other 2 tomorrow all day

wooo. hooo.

I hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: Are you a fan of crab cakes?

3 Comments on “Crab Cakes and Dogs”

  1. The dog idea is genius! It’s impossible to be stressed out when there’s a cute doggie around!

  2. I absolutely love crab cakes! Those look amazing. What cute dogs. Good luck with the exams.


Leave a Reply

