WIAW-Work day Eats

Good Morning!

the theme for this month’s WIAW is all about sensible snacking

I think everyone has different eating patterns that work for them, whether it be eating 5 small meals a day or eating 3 balanced meals with 1 or 2 small snacks in between

for me I think I’m more of a balanced meal gal with a snack or two in between if necessary

this summer I recently just started working again as a waitress as I’ve told you, and I’ve found that I need to make sure my meals are filling and hearty because I am forced to go HOURS without eating..sometimes its a little torturous..and sometimes I get so hungry that I no longer feel hungry

has that ever happened to you? I’m sure if you do or have worked in a restaurant before as a waitress you can relate to what I’m talking about

so lets take a look at my eats from yesterday

Breakfast

before breakfast I went to a hour long work out with my mom at the gym. We did a circuit style work out that kicked my bootay..I was dripping sweat by the end!

I raced home to shower before work..and then the water got turned off in my house mid-shower..but I won’t bore you with that story..any who I quickly hoped out of the shower, got dressed, and made myself a quick breakfast before work

a whole grain bagel scooped out (where the inside of the bagel is taken out) and toasted with peanut butter and sliced banana

a nice filling breakfast before a long work day!

i also had some strawberries on the side

so fresh and delicious

Lunch

I worked from 10:30-3:30 at the restaurant and had my first really bad serving experience there

it was a really busy lunch shift and everything was going according to plan even though I was running around like a pyscho, and then it was like a huge tornado came through and everything just seemed to go wrong

:(..lets just say I was happy when I got the chance to sit down after my shift and roll some silverware (okay like a TON of silverware) and eat my lunch

I got a salad that had chicken, goat cheese, apple, dried cranberries, pecans, mixed greens and balsamic vinagrette

the salad went un-pictured because my phone wasn’t on me at the time

Dinner

i came home at 4 for about an hour before I had to head back into work for my second shift at 6

even though I wasn’t hungry yet from lunch, I knew i should eat something because I would get hungry later and would be working

a lemon chobani with granola and more strawberries

while I think its best to only eat when your hungry sometimes you have to adjust your eating patterns when a job or something else is involved

but of course as I was on my way to work the restaurant called me and told me I could have the night off or I could choose to work

after the day I had I just wanted the night off

so I came home and just hung out the rest of the night

Snacks

my only snacks for the day were a little bit of artic zero

sorry for this really awkward picture lol..my mom thinks this is disgusting by the way..I’m not sure how I feel about it but it definitely is on the bottom of the totem poll as far as ice cream choices go

i would much rather have just regular frozen yogurt

i also had a couple plain rice cakes randomly

I was really craving some popcorn but we don’t have any so rice cakes were the next best option

and a couple hours later I had a small bowl of rice chex with almond milk and a little raw sugar sprinkled on top..SUCH a good late night snack!

such an old school cereal but so good!

****

if I work just a night shift I eat just normal meals throughout the day (breakfast and lunch) and then for the most part have a greek yogurt combination on my way to work because those leave me full for a while

then when I come home around 11:30 12 I’ll usually have just a bowl of cereal and call it a night

here are some other recent eats that i realized I never blogged about

a ham, turkey, cheddar, cucumber, lettuce, tomato, and honey mustard wrap from my favorite local deli. They slice the meats TO ORDER. how freaking awesome is that?

an open-faced tuna melt with a slice of tomato and American cheese..I can’t even remember the last time I made myself tuna salad and it hit the spot. I mixed a small can of tuna with some plain greek yogurt, honey mustard, chopped pickles, salt and pepper. deeelish..I use to love tuna melts as a kid!

my first time trying the roasted veggie and egg combo I see a lot on Julie’s blog

I was really annoyed that my yolk broke but it was still delicious nonetheless!..oh and of course i topped my egg with some siracha

oh and since this month is all about sensible snacking we all know what my favorite snack is..

they aren’t the most filling or healthiest snack but I am just obsessed..as you can see i bought the individual bags…that was for a reason people:)

****

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What is your favorite go-to snack?

8 Comments on “WIAW-Work day Eats”

  1. Alexandra says:

    Sorry to hear about the chaos at the restaurant, that blows. But your eats rock! And I’m so with you on those bunny snacks– addictive doesn’t even begin to describe them haha πŸ˜‰

  2. I totally know what you mean about serving, especially lunch shift! I worked as a server and lunch was the WORST. It was out of control I was running around like a crazy person, would go hours without eating, and get home dripping sweat. Gross. Haha

  3. Isn’t that the worst, when you have such a horrible day at work and all you want to do is go home and put your feet up? I hate it! But at least you got the night off πŸ™‚

  4. I have heard really mixed reviews on Arctic Zero! Guess I’ll just have to try it for myself. I’m always up for a little ice cream taste-testing!

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    That happens to me too when I’m hungry for too long and then suddenly lose my desire to eat. I used to work at Panera and that would happen to me ALL the time, especially around the dinnertime shifts– And it didn’t help looking at all of that amazing food either!

  6. Arctic Zero is so not the same. But I still like it, because I don’t have to stop myself at just a little bit, haha. I just have no self control with ice cream!!!

    I love the scooping out the bagel trick!


Leave a Reply

