Strawberry Trifle Recipe

Good Morning

yesterday was finally a nice pool day to lay out!

so that’s pretty much what i did all day until i had to go to work at 5

for lunch I made myself a huge salad to eat out by the pool

in the mix: grilled chicken, avocado, scallions, orange peppers, yellow grape tomatoes, and mango salsa for my dressing

whole foods mango salsa is SO good

i also tried the kale chips that I bought

i wish i could say i was a fan but i thought they were kind of gross..i think if i made my own homemade kale chips (which I still want to try) I would like them a lot better!

so instead I had some cheese crackers and a few pretzels

mmm i love cheese crackers

my parents were having company over yesterday so I offered to whip up an easy dessert

Strawberry Trifle!

I didn’t do a play by play but its super easy so here is the recipe!

Strawberry Trifle

Servings: About 6

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 packet instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 80z container fat free cool whip
  • 4oz reduced fat cream cheese
  • 1 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 frozen pound cake (i used Sara Lee pound cake) or homemade, cut up into bite sized pieces.Ā  (Or Angel Food Cake would work really well!)
  • 2 cups chopped strawberries (about 2 pints worth)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp sugar free strawberry jam (0ptional)
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (optional)

Instructions:

  • Combine the pudding mix and milk in a bowl and beat for about 5 minutes until the pudding starts to come together.
  • Next add in the cream cheese and orange juice and beat together until smooth
  • fold in the cool whip and set aside.
  • mix strawberries with 1 tbsp of sugar and set aside
  • next comes the assembly..in the bottom of a clear bowl or trifle dish add a layer of the cool whip mixture, then a layer of pound cake, followed by a layer of strawberries
  • repeat this process until you get to the top of the bowl
  • for optional touches, melt the strawberry jam in the microwave for 30 seconds. Add the blueberries on top of the trifle and drizzle the melted jam on top
  • Refrigerate for at least an hour (this is a great dessert to make ahead of time)

A few notes on the recipe: If I was using a trifle dish I probably would of doubled the recipe. If you were to double the recipe using angel food cake you probably only need one full angel food cake.

i came home last night from work around 12am and inhaled about 7 bites of this

so good

alrighty time to go get ready for my work out and then pool time! šŸ™‚

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What is your favorite summertime dessert?

mine is probably ice cream, or fruit crumbles, or trifles..clearly i like a lot of desserts:)

7 Comments on “Strawberry Trifle Recipe”

  1. So I was at Costco yesterday and they had strawberry trifle and it looked horrible. But this looks 100000000 times better that’s for sure! Gotta try it out šŸ™‚

  2. This looks perfect for summer!

    My favorite summer dessert is definitely ice cream. I had ice cream twice this past weekend! It was so hot & humid that it tasted extra delicious!

  3. S says:

    CHELC I WANT TO NOM THAT SALAD

  4. Mmm that sounds delicious! I love trifles, and they’re so easy to make!

  5. ittybitsofbalance says:

    Yes! Do try to make your own kale chips! I’m a fan of the homemade stuff over prepackaged any day.

    Aaaaand make sure to try them with ketchup šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

