Twist on a Classic

good morning!

so growing up one of my all time favorite lunches was a tuna, toast, and cheese

which involved 2 pieces of bread, tuna salad (canned tuna mixed with mayo, salt and pepper), and a slice of good old american cheese. My mom would toast the bread (when I was younger i refused to eat bread if it wasn’t toasted) and then would add the tuna and slice of american cheese and put the sandwich back in the toaster oven for a few minutes so the cheese got nice and melty

served alongside some classic potato chips and fruit and i was a happy camper

adding the potato c hips INTO the sandwich..oh yea i did it..and it was awesome

but ever since my  tuna, toast, and cheese lovin days i don’t think to eat canned tuna that much

but the other day while reading Say What You Need to Say blog, Lauren posted a recipe for Curried tuna Salad and I was immediately intrigued! so lunch today called for a twist on the old classic using Lauren’s recipe!

the curried tuna salad has raisins in it which makes it a little sweet and full of curry flavor. SO good

i made an open faced sandwich with a piece of toasted wheat bread, tuna salad, sliced tomato, and a slice of provolone cheese melted on top

DEEEELISH!

served alongside some veggies and hummus and a few multigrain crackers from trader joes..a delicious and filling lunch indeed

speaking of trader joes..i discovered a new trail mix I love

monkey business trail mix! or trek mix as they call it..so delicious! i love the banana chips and cocoa nib clusters of course    🙂

i was out by the pool for a little today, and then took Duke for a run at Wellesley college around 3..it was still SO hot out..but we made it through and both chugged lots of water afterwards!

for dinner my mom took me out to Sel De La Terre which is a nice French style restaurant..they have a few different locations including one at our local mall which is the one we went to

we sat outside and ordered a cocktail each to start

i ordered the “Parisian Orchid” which has pear vodka, st germain liquor, and grapefruit juice..we make this cocktail all the time at home..its delicious!

my mom and her cocktail lol..neither one of us were a fan of her drink so she ended up trading it in for the drink I got instead

for appetizers we ordered the cheese plate and the goat cheese and eggplant puree

the plate was huge but only had two little pieces of cheese on it..one piece of gouda and another piece of a soft brie like cheese..everything on the plate was really delicious

mm the goat cheese and eggplant puree..I had a piece of foccacia bread with the puree on top..and then had a couple fork dips of the puree by itself..cause i’m a goat cheese lover and that is what goat cheese lovers do

for my meal i kept it light and got a cup of gazpacho

i only ate about half of this..the gazpacho had a really smoky flavor to it and it was a little too intense for my liking but it was still really good

i also got a arugula salad with candied walnuts, dried figs, and a goat cheese toast

i scraped the goat cheese off the bread because I had already had enough bread with the appetizers..the dried figs were so delicious.i love figs!

*****

once i can get myself out of bed and dressed i’m off to my work out!

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: Are you a fan of tuna salad? What was your favorite meal to eat as a kid?

i was never a picky eater so i would eat pretty much anything that was put in front of me..especially if it contained goat cheese! some things never change..

10 Comments on “Twist on a Classic”

  1. Lindsay Irwin says:

    I’m currently drooling. Let’s go here next time I visit 🙂

  2. I honestly eat tuna a little way too often. Whenever I’m lazy, really. Everything looks delish!

  3. Lauren says:

    Aw, so glad you liked the tuna. It was definitely a nice twist. Have a great weekend girl! 🙂

  4. jessie says:

    Mmm, everything looks delicious!… And that TJ trail mix, i need!!

    Growing up I was obsessed with Grilled Cheese. Any restaurant we ever went too, that’d be what I had.. unless it was made with yellow cheese. Hate yellow cheese!

  5. Ohhh I’ve never tried the monkey business trail mix, but I want some!!

  6. ittybitsofbalance says:

    It’s so funny, when I was a kid I ate the complete OPPOSITE of what I eat now. It was straight fast food, chicken fingers, french fries and pizza for me!


Leave a Reply

