WIAW-delicious summer eats

good morning!

this week, unlike last week, i actually remembered that yesterday was Tuesday so i was able to document most of my eats for my WIAW post!

before the eats lets talk about the FITNESS part of WIAW this month!

Work out

yesterday morning i went for a run with my mom and dogs at Wellesley college..it was PERFECT running weather, not too hot and gorgeous out!

this was taken on our run..duke and lucy are water rats..and how gorgeous is this picture! i absolutely love running the 2.5 mile loop at wellesley college!

speaking of work outs lately you may have noticed that i’ve been neglecting my work out log

there are a few reasons behind this

1. my work outs this summer are usually 3 days a week at my gym which is a small personal training gym I go to with my mom when I’m home. So 3 times a week I do strength training based work outs with some high intensity cardio and boxing thrown in.

2. on the days I don’t go to the gym I either do work outs from pinterest, go running with the dogs, or swim laps in the pool. Sometimes i do a combination of both

3. having a work out log is good at holding myself accountable, especially when i’m at school. However,i feel like i let myself down if i don’t work out 6 times a week every week. Sometimes life, work, and other factors get in the way and I’m learning to accept the fact that its okay to have more than one rest day a week. I love to work out (obviously) but sometimes i’m either too tired, or i consider being on my feet for 7 hour shifts at the restaurant a work out. i run around like a crazy person on busy nights sweating in my long sleeve black shirt and jeans work uniform.

yes they make us where a button up black shirt and jeans in the summer heat..did i mention i work at a restaurant that has a huge outdoor patio? ya not fun.

now after my rant we can move onto the best part, the FOOD

Breakfast

after my run i made an EPIC yogurt bowl

in the mix

  • plain greek yogurt (the rest of the container used as my make shift bowl!)
  • a dollop of raspberry greek yogurt
  • blueberries from the farmers market
  • strawberries from the farmers market
  • sliced peach from the farmers market
  • sliced banana
  • oatmeal flakes (from trader joes)

all mixed up

i wish I could buy fresh produce at the farmers market year round..it is SO good. i could eat this same breakfast every day for the rest of the summer and be perfectly content

Lunch

i worked the lunch shift at the restaurant (from 11am to 3pm) so i didn’t eat lunch until around 3:30 when i got home. I. was. famished

a big bowl of leftovers from Sunday nights dinner: sauteed veggies, blackened tuna, and mango, pineapple, avocado salsa

followed by some chocolate chippys

Dinner

my mom made the YUMMIEST dinner.

we started out with a simple tomato, onion, and avocado salad

i just sliced up a few tomatoes, half an onion, an avocado, and tossed it all with salt, pepper, and light italian dressing. the perfect summer salad!

for dinner myย  mom made a delicious pasta dish with homemade tagliatelle pasta (bought from the farmers market) with sauteed peas, mushrooms, asparagus, in a creamy lemon sauce

amazing. topped with lots of shaved fresh parmesan cheese..gah SO good. to make the sauce creamy my mom used marscapone cheese. i couldn’t begin to eat all this pasta..mainly because i had lunch so late…but it was so delicious!

Dessert

see handful of chocolate chips above + some more fruit!

i also had some strawberries that i didn’t snap a picture of..i’m a fruit eating maCHINE

SO good

night-time snack

my FAV night time snack

sorry for the terrible iphone picture..did you know its hard to take a good picture of cereal while its in a dark mug? well it is..in case you were wondering #blogproblems

in the mug was some trader joes oatmeal flakes (have you tried this cereal?! SO good!) , blueberries, and almond milk

i enjoyed this mug while watching the new teen mom episode..yes i watch teen mom..probably the WORST show ever but whatever. i’ve also watched like 3 episodes of Chopped in a row..and i don’t even really like the show

boredom at its finest

****

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What does your work out routine consist of during the summer?

15 Comments on “WIAW-delicious summer eats”

  1. Oh my god that pasta looks to die for! go mama!

  2. Your dogs are too cute! Such a great picture. I’ve been in love with cereal and yogurt bowls lately. It’s dangerous.

  3. That. Pasta. Oh my goodness. LOOKS SO GOOD!

  4. Oh my gooood… Give me that pasta… PLEASE!

  5. Mmm the pasta is definitely catching my eye in this post… certainly a tasty summer eat ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. WOAH. Your breakfast bowl sounds AMAZING. I want it. Now.

    And I hate when pictures just don’t come out right ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Wahhh. #Blogproblems for sure!!

  7. Kailey says:

    Your mom’s pasta dish looks SO good!! The thicker the noodles the better ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. jessie says:

    Mmm that pasta looks amazing. Your momma got skilll ๐Ÿ™‚

    My go to exercise over the summer, well year round is running. Can never get enough ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    I take at least 2 days of rest per week or else I become TOO addicted to working out. If not keeping a log works best for you, then I say more power to you! Keep up the great work ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. thefoodery says:

    Pasta looks like good comfort food. You had a lot of great snacks, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. sfrick08 says:

    I feel the exact same way about number of rest days! Being a full time student really can take you out of workouts! It has taken me months to get it back, I was just so busy. I actually also posted a recent blog post about this a few days ago! (Its under “A little perspective” if your curious!).

    I love yogurt bowls as well!! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

