Dogs, Drinks, and A book Review

good morning!

yesterday afternoon my mom, me, my moms friend Ann-Marie, and my friend Molly went to happy hour at Wellesley College

but not just any happy hour..a canines and cocktails happy hour

they have the happy hour during the summer so you can bring you dogs and enjoy a nice drink outside on the patio. We got there on the early side, but once we were there for an hour tons of people and their furry companions came

it was funny because everyone seemed to know everyone and all their dogs names..we agreed that we weren’t going to go around introducing ourselves to the other dog crazies but it was funny to watch everyone else interacting

they had dog treats out for the pups!

my mom and I agreed that we would try to go back more this summer! i mean why not its a gorgeous place to sit out and enjoy a drink!

it was just my mom and I for dinner so we decided to treat ourselves and go out to our favorite spot

Blue Ginger!

if you’ve been reading my blog for a little while now you know that I LOVE it there and we try to go as much as possible

we sat at a table outside and ordered some of the best sangria i’ve ever had

it was a sangria made with rose wine and sake..SO good. I had this glass X 2 🙂

I didn’t snap a picture of any of the appetizers we ordered but we got our usual selection: tuna poke, edamame, goat cheese and mushroom rangoon, and sweet potato taro fries

but then we decided to look at the dessert menu..

and then this happened

OH. MY. literally no words

but here’s the description from the menu

Sesame Macadamia Caramel Nut Tart – 12
Toasted Coconut Ice Cream
Housemade Hot Fudge and Goslings Rum Caramel Bananas

this was the best splurge ever. SO FREAKING GOOD BAHHH. good thing they keep the portions small at blue ginger 🙂

****

now onto the book I read in the past 2 days

i read the whole book in 2 days and I loved it

Caitlin Boyle blogs over at Healthy Tipping Point and I’ve been reading her blog for so long that i decided to finally order her book

the book is all about learning to find your own healthy tipping point and includes various success stories from people all over the country

the book teaches you the basics about clean eating and the importance of exercise which even though I would like to consider myself knowledgeable on the two I found that i still learned a lot from the book

What i liked most about the book is Caitlin’s emphasis on not having an all or nothing mentality when it comes to healthy living. There is no quick fix to weight loss, its all about fueling your body with healthy foods, but also indulging in treats frequently so you don’t ever feel like your depriving yourself

I love how she puts emphasis on not focusing on the number on the scale, but rather HOW you feel, how your clothes fit, and what empowers you to feel healthy and happy

I would definitely suggest reading this book if you haven’t yet, it is a quick, knowledgeable read, and it is very inspiring to read other success stories and learn from her tips on how she reached her healthy tipping point

****

on that note, I hope everyone has a great weekend!

<3Chelcie

 

4 Comments on “Dogs, Drinks, and A book Review”

  1. I love the idea of a canines and cocktails happy hour! I wish I could find something like that around me!

  2. jessie says:

    What a perfect day of restaurant eats.. and memories with your mom 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  3. david balaban says:

    where do you find iinfo on the canine friendly happy hour?


Leave a Reply

