WIAW-Summer Staples

good morning!

happy WIAW!

first off..how is it already August?! is it just me or did the month of July FLY by?

this month’s WIAW theme is all about summer staples which for me means lots of fresh produce, big salads, cold smoothies, and grilled food!

summer is my favorite season because of the food! there is nothing better than a tomato from my grandparents garden, or a large ice cream cone in the summer heat

Breakfast

pre-work out yesterday morning was a banana and ice coffee

it’s really sad how i literally can’t function without coffee in the morning

after an hour weights mixed with high intensity cardio at my gym it was breakfast time!

a loaded egg white no-so omelet since it all broke apart in the pan

in the mix

  • sauteed mushrooms
  • leftover roasted sweet potatoes
  • pesto (LOVE pesto in the summertime)
  • american cheese (yes i’m weird and LOVE american cheese with my eggs)..goat cheese is still number one though don’t get it twisted

SO good

eaten alongside a bowl of fresh berries

my mom jokes that when i go away to school she saves so much money on groceries because she isan’t buying as many berries! I have always been known as the berry queen i can down them like there’s no tomorrow

Lunch

even though I like salads all year round, summer salad combos are always the best

especially my salad for lunch yesterday!

 

this was AMAZING:

in the mix

  • grilled chicken
  • avocado
  • mixed greens
  • blueberries
  • strawberries
  • the juiciest peach EVER
  • goat cheese
  • balsamic vinagrette 
  • a few pistachio nuts

i could eat this for lunch EVERY SINGLE DAY.

 

another amazing salad combo I had recently was my dinner the other night before work

in the mix

  • mixed greens
  • tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • leftover corn
  • roasted sweet potatoes
  • pesto green beans
  • goat cheese
  • chicken
  • scallions
  • a piece of crumbled bacon

lets get a close up pic shall we?

SO FREAKING GOOD AHHHH.

great salad combos are da bomb

****

Snack

the other day at the store I bought laughing cow veggie cream cheese and tested it out today on a rice cake for snack

 

i really liked it! paired with some cherries it was a great little snack!

Dinner

part one of dinner was a protein smoothie on my way to work last night

i came downstairs and realized there were no bananas left..no bananas for my smoothie?! it was devastating.

so i settled for some blueberries instead..but it was NOT the same

  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 heaping tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • ice
  • pinch of cinnamon

drank in my tumbler on the way to work

part 2 of dinner was a cliff bar eaten at work

Nighttime Snack

I was reallllly hungry when I go home from work around 11 so I made myself a hefty bowl of cereal. just trader joes oatmeal flakes with blueberries, raspberries, banana and almond milk

***

ps.

GO TEAM USA FOR WINNING COLD IN TEAM ALL AROUND

i’m obsessed.

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: What are some of your favorite meals to eat in the summer?

8 Comments on “WIAW-Summer Staples”

  1. 1. I like American cheese with my eggs too – you aren’t alone 😉
    2. Awesome looking salads!
    3. Yeah, USA! Love watching gymnastics

  2. ittybitsofbalance says:

    I know how you feel about banana-less smoothies. They really aren’t the same!

  3. LOVE those salad ingredients!! must try myself 🙂

  4. kadeecramer says:

    I’m obsessed with avocado but have never put it in my salad.. WHY?????

  5. A smoothie without banana?? What is that madness. Just kidding 😉


Leave a Reply

