WIAW-first home cooked meal!

good morning!

happy WIAW!

so I’m finally all moved into my new apartment at school which is pretty exciting! But I should warn you ahead of time that this will not be a traditional WIAW post because i had no idea it was Tuesday yesterday until about..uhh..6pm? so those spoonfuls of almond butter and such were not pictured

but anywho..so my mom and i drove down to Delaware Monday morning

we left my house at 9am

8 HOURS LATER WE ARRIVED. yes it took us 8 hours when it’s suppose to take 5-6.

wanna know why?

our first spot of traffic was by the GW bridge where we were delayed about 45 minutes..then we drove another 35 minutes with no problem until we came to a stand still. cars were literally parked on the highway for an hour due to a terrible accident that involved 2 trucks

kids were playing street hockey..on the new jersey turn pike!! insane

hi mom!

we got out of our car, met some friends, stretched, soaked in some rays..for about an hour until the traffic started moving..quite the adventure to say the least

when we finally got to Delaware we unpacked and then had a MUCH NEEDED glass of wine

a nice glass of pinot gri for me!

we went out to dinner Monday night to Iron Hill Brewery with my roommate molly and her mom

we started with an order of sweet potato fries which went un-pictured because they were inhaled in about 5 seconds

Molly and I decided to spilt an entree and order an appetizer for our meal

we split the red chile shrimp (which was off their 600 calories or less menu which I think is nice that they have!) which came with a corn and a black bean cake with a lime crema..delish! 

we also split the buffalo chicken eggrolls..um not good for you whatsoever but SO BOMB. i love anything that involves buffalo chicken

Tuesday morning we all went to Breakfast at my favorite spot Sinclairs 

I got an egg white omelet with mushrooms, spinach, and pepper-jack cheese..hit the spot! they also have free refills on ice coffee..yup its pretty much amazing. so along with my omelet i had 2 glasses of ice coffee

yesterday was a busy day of errands! which included Target, Costco, and the Grocery store! we are fully stalked on groceries now that’s for sure!

for lunch (which didn’t happen until around 3:30 yesterday) I whipped up some chicken salad

i love putting grapes in my chicken salad yum! I had some on top of mixed greens with sirracha hot sauce as my dressing ..obviously. my mouth was on fire but it was so worth it

for our first meal in our new apartment we decided to have a potluck dinner with two of my good friends who live right across the way!

molly set in the table in true college fashion..paper plates and bowls that don’t match and silverware..oh and hi to molly in the background!

Molly made the salad which had scallions, cucumber, and grapes, and a bowl of goat cheese on the side!, i made grilled chicken with a mango avocado salsa, my friend becca made pasta salad, and my friend kristen brought fruit for dessert!

everything was so delicious! except a few pieces of the chicken weren’t cooked all the way cause I’m not use to an electric stove! (oh and I also set off the fire alarm..just welcoming myself to the neighborhood!)

***

so not a traditional WIAW but I still managed to remember to snap pictures of most of my eats!

it is so crazy being all moved into my new apartment but I LOVE where I’m living this year and I can tell it is going to be a great year!

but I still don’t understand how i’m  already a junior in college..college goes by at WARP speed..i’m going to make sure this year goes by slowly..wish me luck on that one!

i hope everyone has a great day!

<3Chelcie

Questions for ya!: What’s one yummy thing you’ve eaten recently? 

                                   Are you a fan of potluck dinners? 

12 Comments on “WIAW-first home cooked meal!”

  1. I didn’t remember it was Tuesday till like 8p.m. haha! Glad you are all moved in! 😀

  2. So glad you made it! Looks like you’ve kicked the year off well!

  3. You’re right… college goes by SO FAST! Those were definitely the fastest 4 years of my life. Maybe it’s just because UD is so awesome!

  4. Congrats to getting all moved in! Looks like you’ve started off with a bang 🙂

  5. Pheww glad you made it Chelcie, what a few hectic days you have had! You certainly kicked off the year well

  6. Glad you finally made it.. after a forever long adventure getting there. Thank goodness you weren’t driving alone, that would’ve been awful!! Mmm I’m with ya on buffalo chicken. I don’t think it’s possible to EVER go wrong w/ picking anything buffalo chicken off any menu

  7. FitNjess says:

    The potluck dinner was such a fun idea! Your salsa looks so good too! Good luck with school and have a nice weekend:)


Leave a Reply

