Meal-Prep-Roasted Veggies + Sweet Potatoes

good morning!

so before I tell you about my meal prep suggestions..I need to tell you what I did last night..

got fro yo DUH. I’m going to try reallllly hard to limit my fro yo consumption this year (damn you yogo berry and all your flavors and topping choices)..but I’ve been craving it for the past few days and when my roommate agreed to go with me I couldn’t turn it down

i got a mix of cheesecake, chocolate, and coffee flavored fro yo and had an assortment of pb chips, white chocolate chips, mini m &m’s, and fruit. amazing.

*****

now onto meal prep..I know that life as a college student, full time employee, etc gets extremely busy and I think one of the key’s to keeping a healthy diet is taking one day out of the week to do some meal-prep

two of my favorite healthy foods to prep for the week are a batch of roasted veggies and a batch of roasted sweet potatoes

yesterday after my grocery shopping trip I made a batch of each

for the veggies I did 3 zucchini and 1 red onion chopped up and tossed in 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, and 1 tsp red pepper flake (optional but recommended!)

roasted at 375 degrees F for 35-40 minutes (stirred every 15 minutes or so) until slightly browned

Now you just have to resist eating the whole batch in one sitting

Here are some of the ways I love to incorporate the roasted veggies I make

  • cooking up some grains (pasta, quinoa, cous cous, brown rice) and mixing in roasted veggies with some marinara sauce and goat cheese 
  • eating alongside protein of choice (grilled chicken, salmon, shrimp..also great to prep-ahead on the weekends!)
  • eating with 2 eggs over easy and  roasted sweet potatoes (see below)..this has become my new favorite meal!
  •  as a salad topping

So versatile and so healthy! veggies can be annoying to prep on a daily basis so prepping them in advance is so important to make sure you are still eating healthy on a busy schedule!

now onto the roasted sweet potatoes

4 sweet potatoes (peeled and chopped) and tossed with 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp salt, 1 tbsp pepper, 1 tbsp red pepper flake..roasted at 425 degrees F for 35-40 minutes..stirring every 15 minutes until brown around the egdges

(other delicious spices to add: a pinch of cinnamon, chili powder, cumin, paprika..if your feeling fancy!)

Great ways to eat the taters during the week!

  • alongside eggs and roasted veggies! (my dinner last night! see below)
  • on top of salads
  • mixed with 1/2 cup cottage cheese and some hot sauce
  • alongside protein of choice (chicken, fish, steak, turkey burgers) with some barbecue sauce
  • incorporated into mexican sweet potato bowls ..my dinner tonight! (so I prepped ahead..see what i did there? 🙂 )

dinner last night=my favorite meal ever

1 cup roasted sweet potatoes, 1 cup roasted veggies, 2 eggs cooked over easy (drippy yolk is da BOMB), 1 oz goat cheese (or maybe a littttle more..) and sriracha hot sauce

I recommend adding avocado on top of but I was feeling lazy last night..I know cutting into an avocado takes SO much effort…

***

so to all you college students out there who say they don’t have time to cook..if you take 1 HOUR out of your Sunday to prep these 2 recipes you will not be sorry!

and speaking of college..today is my first day of classes! i have marketing class at 12:30pm and Jazz Dance at 2:00pm

yup Jazz Dance counts as a 3 credit class..boo yah!

wish me luck on my first day of class!

<3Chelcie

Question for ya!: Do you do any kind of meal prep on the weekends?

8 Comments on “Meal-Prep-Roasted Veggies + Sweet Potatoes”

  1. Every time you post froyo I really really reallllly want it. Grrrr! lol
    Good luck with classes! I think you may need a tutor for dance, sounds hard 😉

  2. roasted veggies are my LIFE. This is such a good idea to make a bunch at the beginning of the week! Then you have no excuses not to eat your veggies! I don’t do any actual meal prep on Sundays, but I do write down all my dinner plans. 🙂

  3. Theresa says:

    All those roasted veggies make my heart swoon! Veggies + Eggs is seriously one of the best dinners ever 🙂

  4. Angela says:

    After you roast your veggies, do you freeze them to store? How do you reheat them?

  5. FitnJess says:

    I don’t really do a whole lot of prep, but I should because it would make my life so much easier!!!


Leave a Reply

